Chaplaincy


What is Chaplaincy about?

ch

The Chaplaincy service at Western Sydney University attends to the spiritual well-being of students and the university community more broadly. The pursuit of a higher education and the honing of career pathways is a spiritually rich and challenging process that involves deep reflection about one’s purpose, values and relationships. It is also a time in which students have the opportunity to make lasting friendships. Our multifaith chaplaincy operates in acknowledgement of a diverse community of ethnic and religious backgrounds. We see ourselves as a key collaborator in the University’s purpose of embracing diversity.

We pursue a capacity for supporting all students – those interested in particular religious traditions and those who have no affiliation with religious tradition but who are interested in spiritual questions and curious about clarifying their own values and priorities.

You may often find us cooking meals. This is in order to slow things down in this fast-paced lifestyle and create opportunities for connecting, dialogue and friendship. Such activity is the old-school approach to hospitality. We are keenly interested in each student’s success so that the process of education here at Western can be as personally fulfilling as possible for each one.

Our chaplains come from a variety of spiritual traditions, offering:

  • Confidential conversation
  • Opportunities to nurture, express and explore your own experiences and learning
  • Links to religious groups and faith communities
  • Exploration of ethical issues and action for social justice
  • Care and support in times of uncertainty, crisis and loss.
  • A chance to de-stress and lower anxiety.

Multifaith facilities

Multifaith facilities are available for students and staff on all campuses.

 

Multifaith Prayer, Meditation and Yoga Room

Muslim Prayer
Rooms
Multi-faith Facilities
Bankstown  

Building 10.G.19 (Female)
Building 10.G.20 (Male)

Building 10.G.13
Campbelltown   Building 2.2.02 Building 2.2.07
Hawkesbury   Building P9 Building P9
Liverpool   Level 1 Level 1
Parramatta   Building EA.LG.13 Building EF.G.07
Parramatta City

PSQ1.1.23-24 (women after 12)

PSQ1.1.26-27 (men after 12)

- PSQ 1.1.35
(small groups
and Chaplaincy)
Penrith   Building H Building H

Our Multifaith facilities acknowledge the spiritual heritage of the Darug and Dharawal People, the traditional stewards of these lands. They are available for all who come in goodwill and in an attitude of respect – those who hold to a faith tradition as well as those who do not. They offer a safe place to meet, pray, reflect, meditate or simply take some time for yourself. Multifaith facilities are places where your inner life is respected and honoured.

^ Back to top

Campus contacts

CampusPhoneContact
Bankstown 0402 771 543

Daniel Jantos

Email:
d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Campbelltown 0402 771 543 Daniel Jantos
d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au
Hawkesbury

0402 771 543

0422 498 371

0490 024 955

Daniel Jantos
d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Christine Gapes
c.gapes2@westernsydney.edu.au

Jennie Rawlings
jennie.rawlings@westernsydney.edu.au

Liverpool0478 748 587



0425 416 200 

Jackie Gibbon
j.gibbon@westernsydney.edu.au
jackiegibbon@gmail.com

Jason Jeremiah
jason.jeremiah@bigpond.com

Parramatta 0422 498 371 Christine Gapes 
c.gapes2@westernsydney.edu.au 
Parramatta CBD 0427 955 157 Amelia Koh-Butler
a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au 
Penrith 0402 771 543 Daniel Jantos
d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au 

General Chaplaincy Administration Enquiries

(02) 4620 3358

chaplaincy@westernsydney.edu.au

^ Back to top

Denominations


The University is served by chaplains from a broad range of denominations/faith traditions:

Anglican

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Richard Blight

(02) 9772 6526

0402 282 893

r.blight@westernsydney.edu.au

richardblight1@gmail.com

Rev Cameron Howard

0422 427 939

cameron.w.howard@gmail.com

Alistair Seabrook

0433 335 159

alistair@dundasanglican.com.au

Buddhist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Anita Lau (External Advisor)

(02) 9966 8893

office@buddhistcouncil.org

Sunim BomHyon

0435 612 667

bomhyon.sunim@gmail.com

Catholic

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Fr Andrew Fornal

(02) 4721 8945

0405 200 937

afflo123@me.com

Fr Joseph Reddy Dondetti

0435 036 826

j.dondetti@westernsydney.edu.au

Fr. Piotr Kruk OP

0407 732 509

kruk2000@gmail.com

Churches of Christ

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Jackie Gibbon

0478 748 587

j.gibbon@westernsydney.edu.au
jackiegibbon@gmail.com
Jason Jeremiah0425 416 200jason.jeremiah@bigpond.com

Coptic Orthodox

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Fr Matthew Attia

0418 283 114

fr.matthew2@bigpond.com

Emmanuel Baptist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Ian Duncan

0481 284 394

123ibd456@gmail.com

Every Nation Ministries and Churches

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Daniel Monterde

0414 761 961

dan.monterde@everynationcampus.org

Foursquare Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Jennie Rawlings

0490 024 955

jennierawlings@bigpond.com

Fresh Hope Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Steve Hodgson

0401 477 745

steve.hodgson@freshhope.org.au

Greek Orthodox

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Fr Panagiotis Protopsaltis

0402 219 214

revpanagiotis@steuphemia.nsw.edu.au

Hillsong Church Hills Chinese Service

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Qianwen (Renee) Deng

0419 654 987

qianwen.deng@westernsydney.edu.au

Hindu

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Pundit Rama

0419 654 987

kulaguru@bigpond.com

Islamic

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Ziad Raad

0449 098 998

z.raad@westernsydney.edu.au

Jewish

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rabbi Eli Feldman

 

junisydney@gmail.com

Latter-day Saints

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Ben Terry

(02) 9481 5371

ben.terry@ldschurch.org

Methodist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler

0427 955 157

a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au

or

amelia.koh-butler@parramattamission.org.au

Pagan & Earth Spiritualties

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Susanne Rae Jones

0410 453 725

s.jones2@westernsydney.edu.au

Presbyterian

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Peter Barnes

(02) 9774 5740

0450 506 324

peter.barnes828@gmail.com

Seventh Day Adventist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Daniel Przybylko

 

danielprzybylko@hotmail.com

Strong Nation Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Luke Jones

0414 622 279

hello@sozojunior.com.au

Cherie Jones

0421 860 574

cherierosejones@gmail.com

Uniting Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler

0427 955 157

a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au

or

amelia.koh-butler@parramattamission.org.au

Rev Dr Christine Gapes

0422 498 371

c.gapes2@westernsydney.edu.au

Rev Tara Curlewis

02 8838 8922

taraC@nswact.uca.org.au

Ben Weir

0401 077 404

b.weir@westernsydney.edu.au

Brenda Taiamoni

 

brendataiamoni@gmail.com

Jeffrey Abayasekera

 

annathaie@gmail.com

The University is also visited by other denominations/faith traditions. For more information please contact Daniel Jantos 0402 771 543 or Marissa Waddington on 02 4620 3358.  Alternatively via email at d.jantos@westernsdyney.edu.au or m.waddington@westernsydney.edu.au.

^ Back to top