Chaplaincy


What is Chaplaincy about?

The Chaplaincy team offers a caring presence to all staff and students at the University; encouraging spirituality, offering hospitality and creating community. We do this by embracing our diversity, encouraging conversation and respecting our similarities and differences. Our role is to encourage a spiritual life within the University. Our key aim is to help you get the most out of your time at Western Sydney University. Our chaplains come from a variety of spiritual traditions, offering:

  • a safe place and an open ear
  • opportunities to nurture, express and explore your spirituality
  • links to religious groups and faith communities
  • connection of life and faith through critical thinking, exploration of ethical issues and action for social justice
  • care and support in times of uncertainty, crisis and loss
  • thoughtful acts of service with, and for, others
  • a free and confidential service


Multifaith facilities

Multifaith facilities are available for students and staff on all campuses.

 

Multifaith Prayer, Meditation and Yoga Room

Muslim Prayer
Rooms
Multi-faith Facilities
Bankstown  

Building 10.G.19 (Female)
Building 10.G.20 (Male)

Building 10.G.13
Campbelltown   Building 2.2.02 Building 2.2.07
Hawkesbury   Building P9 Building P9
Parramatta   Building EA.LG.13 Building EF.G.07
Parramatta City

PSQ1.1.23-24 (women after 12)

PSQ1.1.26-27 (men after 12)

-PSQ 1.1.35
(small groups
and Chaplaincy)
Penrith   Building H Building H

These Multifaith facilities are founded on the spiritual places of the Darug People, the traditional caretakers of this region. They are available for all who hold to a faith tradition as well as those who do not. They offer a safe place to meet, pray, reflect, meditate or simply take some time for yourself.  There are multifaith libraries to browse, chaplains to chat with, groups to connect with and religious festivals to celebrate. Multifaith facilities are places where your inner life is respected and honoured.

^ Back to top

Campus contacts

Campus Phone Contact Email
Bankstown 0402 771 543 Daniel Jantos

d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Campbelltown 0402 771 543 Daniel Jantos d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au  
Hawkesbury

0402 771 543

0422 498 371

0490 024 955

Daniel Jantos

Christine Gapes

Jennie Rawlings

d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

c.gapes2@westernsydney.edu.au

jennie.rawlings@westernsydney.edu.au

Parramatta 0422 498 371 Christine Gapes c.gapes2@westernsydney.edu.au
Parramatta CBD0427 955 157Amelia Koh-Butlera.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au
Penrith 0402 771 543 Daniel Jantosd.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au
General Chaplaincy Administration Enquiries(02) 4620 3358Marissa Waddingtonm.waddington@westernsydney.edu.au

^ Back to top

Denomination contacts


The University is served by chaplains from a broad range of denominations/faith traditions:

Anglican

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Richard Blight

(02) 9772 6526

0402 282 893

r.blight@westernsydney.edu.au

richardblight@optusnet.com.au

Rev Cameron Howard

0422 427 939

cameron.w.howard@gmail.com

Alistair Seabrook

0433 335 159

alistair@dundasanglican.com.au

Buddhist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Anita Lau (External Advisor)

(02) 9966 8893

office@buddhistcouncil.org

Sunim BomHyon

0435 612 667

bomhyon.sunim@gmail.com

Catholic

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Fr Andrew Fornal

(02) 4721 8945

0405 200 937

afflo123@me.com

Fr Joseph Reddy Dondetti

0435 036 826

j.dondetti@westernsydney.edu.au

Fr. Piotr Kruk OP

0407 732 509

kruk2000@gmail.com

Churches of Christ NSW/Fresh Hope NSW

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Steve Hodgson

0401 477 745

steve.hodgson@freshhope.org.au

Coptic Orthodox

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Fr Matthew Attia

0418 283 114

fr.matthew2@bigpond.com

Emmanuel Baptist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Ian Duncan

0481 284 394

123ibd456@gmail.com

Every Nation Ministries and Churches

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Daniel Monterde

0414 761 961

dan.monterde@everynationcampus.org

Foursquare Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Jennie Rawlings

0490 024 955

jennierawlings@bigpond.com

Greek Orthodox

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Fr Panagiotis Protopsaltis

0402 219 214

revpanagiotis@steuphemia.nsw.edu.au

Hindu

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Pundit Rama

0419 654 987

kulaguru@bigpond.com

Islamic

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Ziad Raad

0449 098 998

z.raad@westernsydney.edu.au

Jewish

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rabbi Eli Feldman

 

junisydney@gmail.com

Latter-day Saints

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Ben Terry

(02) 9481 5371

ben.terry@ldschurch.org

David Lakisa

(02) 9841 5318

0405 103 302

david.lakisa@ldschurch.org

Methodist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler

0427 955 157

a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au

or

amelia.koh-butler@parramattamission.org.au

Pagan & Earth Spiritualties

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Susanne Rae Jones

0410 453 725

s.jones2@westernsydney.edu.au

Presbyterian

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Peter Barnes

(02) 9774 5740

0450 506 324

peter.barnes828@gmail.com

Seventh Day Adventist

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Daniel Przybylko

 

danielprzybylko@hotmail.com

Strong Nation Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Luke Jones

0414 622 279

hello@sozojunior.com.au

Cherie Jones

0421 860 574

cherierosejones@gmail.com

Uniting Church

Contact name

Phone number

Email

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler

0427 955 157

a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au

or

amelia.koh-butler@parramattamission.org.au

Rev Dr Christine Gapes

0422 498 371

c.gapes2@westernsydney.edu.au

Rev Tara Curlewis

02 8838 8922

taraC@nswact.uca.org.au

Ben Weir

0401 077 404

b.weir@westernsydney.edu.au

Brenda Taiamoni

 

brendataiamoni@gmail.com

Jeffrey Abayasekera

 

annathaie@gmail.com

The University is also visited by other denominations/faith traditions. For more information please contact Daniel Jantos 0402 771 543 or Marissa Waddington on 02 4620 3358.  Alternatively via email at d.jantos@westernsdyney.edu.au or m.waddington@westernsydney.edu.au.

^ Back to top