Chemical and Forensic Sciences


Overview of the Research Area

Chemical Sciences

The research projects in Chemistry span Analytical, Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistries. We have very well equipped synthesis laboratories with excellent modern instrumentation for chemical analysis. The Researchers have strong national and international collaboration with other universities and also with Industry.

Some of the current research areas are design, synthesis and characterisation of macromolecular and bioactive molecules, invention and development of new separation technologies, investigation of new materials for production of next generation batteries, isolation and characterisation of active molecules from natural products, forensic chemistry, advanced NMR spectroscopy, and use of new flow synthetic methods for optimisation of reactions.

More information on current Research Projects and potential Postgraduate Research Projects can be found under each of the specific staff pages. We welcome enquiries from both national and international students about our Postgraduate Research programs.

Forensic Sciences

The research strengths and main focus areas for forensic science research at Western Sydney University cover environmental forensic science, forensic chemistry (including the chemical analysis of trace evidence and fingerprint detection methods), forensic anthropology (including decomposition studies), and forensic digital imaging. A particular area of interest is the evaluation of field-portable equipment for forensic and environmental monitoring applications. Researchers have access to the Crime Scene Investigation Training and Research Facility, which is jointly owned and operated by WSU and NSW Police, as well as forensic biology, forensic chemistry, digital imaging and general forensic examination research laboratories. A purpose-built mobile forensic laboratory is also available for both research and teaching. Specialised analytical instrumentation for forensic science research is available via the Advanced Materials Characterisation Facility at WSU Parramatta.

Industry research partners include NSW Police, NSW Forensic and Analytical Science Service, Australian Federal Police, Victoria Police, Fire & Rescue NSW, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage, NSW Environment Protection Authority, and the US National Forensic Science Technology Center. Academic research partners include the University of Technology Sydney and the University of Canberra.

Researchers

Prof Andrew Shalliker

Prof Andrew Shalliker
Research expertise and interests: Separation science
r.shalliker@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Gary Dennis

Assoc Prof Gary Dennis
Research expertise and interests: Separation Science, Physical Chemistry
g.dennis@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Kamali Kannangara

Assoc Prof Kamali Kannangara
Research expertise and interests: Materials Science, Organic Chemistry
k.kannangara@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof Paul Wormell

Prof Paul Wormell
Research expertise and interests: Electronic and Vibrational Spectroscopy, Physical Chemistry
p.wormell@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Christopher Gordon

Dr Christopher Gordon
Research expertise and interests: Organic, Medicinal, Flow Chemistry
c.gordon2@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Feng Li

Dr Feng Li
Research expertise and interests: Metallo-supramolecular materials, molecular magnetism, Inorganic Chemistry
feng.li@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Narsimha Reddy

Dr Narsimha Reddy
Research expertise and interests: Bioactive Molecules Structure-activity relationship; NMR and MRI
n.reddy@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Mark Williams

Dr Mark Williams
Research expertise and interests: Forensic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry
m.williams@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Gang Zheng

Dr Gang Zheng
Research expertise and interests: Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, Physical Chemistry
g.zheng@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof Chris Lennard

Prof Chris Lennard
Research expertise and interests: forensic chemistry (chemical analysis of trace evidence), fingerprint detection, evaluation of field-portable equipment for forensic applications
c.lennard@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Val Spikmans

Dr Val Spikmans
Research expertise and interests: environmental forensic science (sampling and analysis of water, soil and air matrices), evaluation of field-portable equipment for forensic and environmental monitoring applications, and forensic chemistry (chemical analysis of trace evidence)
v.spikmans@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Robert Ebeyan

Dr Robert Ebeyan
Research expertise and interests: forensic digital imaging, image processing and the interpretation of images as evidence
r.ebeyan@westernsydney.edu.au

Brenden Riley

Brenden Riley
Research expertise and interests:
B.Riley@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Tad Bak

Assoc Prof Tad Bak
Research expertise and interests:
T.Bak@westernsydney.edu.au

Contact Person

For more information about the research area, please contact Gary Dennis via email g.dennis@westernsydney.edu.au or phone (02) 9685 9939.