Medical Science


Overview of the Research Area

The Medical Sciences discipline group at Western Sydney University contains expert researchers who are engaged in a number of different researchareas from basic discovery to translational studies. Using a cellular to systems level approach, staff study conditions such as neurodegeneration, infectious
diseases, cancer, drug discovery, medical physiology, medicinal chemistry, medical microbiology, and pain, all of which have significant effects on human wellbeing.  Strong collaborations exist with researchers in other research disciplines (Medicine, Health, Biological, Sports & Exercise
Sciences), government and industry partner organisations, and international institutions. These researchers and their teams have produced important work that has changed our understanding of, for example, how nerves can be repaired, or how metal complexes can be used to kill cancer cells.

Medical Science research is supported by state of the art research facilities. These include a NMR imaging and spectroscopy facility, a high-resolution mass spectrometry unit, a bio-imaging microscopy facility that includes confocal and raman microscopes, a genome sequencing facility, and an anatomy
facility.

Researchers

Prof Janice Aldrich-Wright

Prof Janice Aldrich-Wright
Research expertise and interests: Drug discovery, platinum compounds.
j.aldrich-wright@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-6943-6908

Dr Cherylea Browne

Dr Cherylea Browne
Research expertise and interests: Mal de Debarquement Syndrome, Vestibular Neuroscience, Neural Interfaces, Auditory Neuroscience, Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy
c.browne@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-6758-685X

Dr Liza Cubeddu

Dr Liza Cubeddu
Research expertise and interests: DNA repair and chromatin remodelling, biochemical biophysical and structural techniques.
l.cubeddu@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Manisha Dayal

Dr Manisha Dayal
Research expertise and interests: Forensic anthropology, human anatomy, anatomical variation, 3D printing technology, 3D imaging.
m.dayal@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-5987-7788

Dr Graham Jones

Dr Graham Jones
Research expertise and interests: Immunology, atopy, asthma and eczema.
graham.jones@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-9500-6725

Dr Oliver Morton

Dr Oliver Morton
Research expertise and interests: Host pathogen interactions focusing on opportunistic fungal pathogens, diagnostics for fungal infections, and development of treatments for microbial infections.
o.morton@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-1702-0545

Dr Simon Myers

Dr Simon Myers
Research expertise and interests: Sensory neuropathies.
s.myers@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Srinivas Nammi

Dr Srinivas Nammi
Research expertise and interests: Metabolic syndrome, obesity, dyslipidaemia, Type 2 diabetes, fatty liver disease, chronic kidney disease.
s.nammi@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-4735-2789

Dr Sabine Pillar

Dr Sabine Piller
Research expertise and interests: Protein arginine methylation and its impact in various diseases (cancer and neuronal disease) and in plants.
s.piller@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Peter Shortland

Assoc Prof Peter Shortland
Research expertise and interests: Acute and chronic pain mechanisms associated with peripheral nerve and spinal root injuries & pathways associated with somatosensory processing of thermosensation.
p.shortland@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-7598-9744

Dr Colin Stack

Dr Colin Stack
Research expertise and interests: Protozoan parasites that affect cattle and domestic animals. Novel treatment strategies in human microbial diseases.
c.stack@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Garry Neidermayer

Dr Ben Perry

Dr Ben Perry
Research expertise and interests:
B.Perry@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-2834-8004 

Dr Sam Merlin

Dr Sam Merlin
Research expertise and interests: 
S.Merlin@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-2103-4974

Dr Kayte Jenkin

Dr Kayte Jenkin
Research expertise and interests:
K.Jenkin@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Zoran Pletikosa

Dr Roland Gamsjaeger

Dr Roland Gamsjaeger
Research expertise and interests: chromatin regulation and DNA repair processes.
R.Gamsjaeger@westernsydney.edu.au
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-1095-2569

Dr Chris Jones

Dr David Harman

Dr David Harman
Research expertise and interests:
D.Harman@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Genevieve Steiner

Dr Genevieve Steiner
NICM Health Research Institute
Research expertise and interests:
G.Steiner@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Yossi Buskila

Dr Yossi Buskila
School Of Medicine
Research expertise and interests:
Y.Buskila@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof Dennis Chang

Prof Dennis Chang
Research expertise and interests:
D.Chang@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof Tim Karl

Prof Tim Karl
School Of Medicine
Research expertise and interests:
T.Karl@westernsydney.edu.au

Contact Person

For more information about the research area, please contact Peter Shortland via email p.shortland@westernsydney.edu.au or phone (02) 4620 3804.