Medical Science


Overview of the Research Area

Medical Science research within the School is active across many disciplines. Current areas include neuroscience, medical physics, drug discovery, medical nanotechnology, medical microbiology, immunology, cancer research, genetics, anthropology, anatomical variation, pathophysiology.
State of the art research facilities available within the University include an NMR imaging facility, mass spectrometry unit, confocal bio-imaging facility, a genome sequencing facility, and an anatomy facility.

Researchers

Researchers

Prof Janice Aldrich-Wright
Research expertise and interests: Drug discovery, platinum compounds.
j.aldrich-wright@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Cherylea Browne
Research expertise and interests: Mal de Debarquement Syndrome, Vestibular Neuroscience, Neural Interfaces, Auditory Neuroscience, Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy
c.browne@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Liza Cubeddu
Research expertise and interests: DNA repair and chromatin remodelling, biochemical biophysical and structural techniques.
l.cubeddu@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Manisha Dayal
Research expertise and interests: Forensic anthropology, human anatomy, anatomical variation, 3D printing technology, 3D imaging.
m.dayal@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Qihan Dong
Research expertise and interests: quiescent cancer cells.
q.dong@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Christopher Gordon
Research expertise and interests: Organic chemistry, flow chemistry.
c.gordon2@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Hayley Green
Research expertise and interests: Forensic anthropology, taphonomy, decomposition and time since death studies, anatomical variation, anatomy education.
h.green@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Graham Jones
Research expertise and interests: Immunology, atopy, asthma and eczema.
graham.jones@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Cindy Kersaitis
Research expertise and interests: Neuropathology, pathogenic mechanisms in neurodegenerative dementia.
c.kersaitis@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Cheang Khoo
Research expertise and interests: Quality control and chemical characterisation of herbal medicines, heavy metal analysis.
c.khoo@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Antonio Lauto
Research expertise and interests: Medical physics.
a.lauto@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Michelle Moffitt
Research expertise and interests: Medical applications of cyanobacteria.
m.moffitt@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Oliver Morton
Research expertise and interests: Fungal interactions with host organisms in causing disease.
o.morton@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Simon Myers
Research expertise and interests: Sensory neuropathies.
s.myers@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Srinivas Nammi
Research expertise and interests: Metabolic syndrome, obesity, dyslipidaemia, Type 2 diabetes, fatty liver disease, chronic kidney disease.
s.nammi@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Gabriel Perrone
Research expertise and interests: Redox, DNA damage, ROS, lipid metabolism, mitochondrial function, yeast, genetics, cell biology.
g.perrone@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Sabine Piller
Research expertise and interests: Protein arginine methylation and its impact in various diseases (cancer and neuronal disease) and in plants.
s.piller@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof William Price
Research expertise and interests: Magnetic Resonance, Medical Physics and Physical Chemistry: Especially molecular dynamics in biological (e.g., tumours, plants) and chemical systems using NMR imaging (i.e., MRI), relaxation and NMR measurements of translational diffusion. His research has direct applications to a wide range of practical problems including cancer treatment, pharmaceutical screening and lithium batteries.
w.price@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Peter Shortland
Research expertise and interests: Acute and chronic pain mechanisms associated with peripheral nerve and spinal root injuries & pathways associated with somatosensory processing of thermosensation.
p.shortland@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Colin Stack
Research expertise and interests: Protozoan parasites that affect cattle and domestic animals. Novel treatment strategies in human microbial diseases.
c.stack@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Mark Temple
Research expertise and interests: Transcriptional regulatory networks important in the cellular responses to oxidative stress.
m.temple@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Ming Wu
Research expertise and interests: Oxidative stress, metal toxicity, cancer and antimicrobial drug development.
m.wu@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Gang Zheng
Research expertise and interests: Background gradient suppression and solvent suppression in NMR experiments. Multi-quantumn NMR diffusion, convection compensation NMR diffusion experiments, quantitative structure and activity/property relationship (QSAR/QSPR) studies of persistent organic pollutants, and the application of pattern recognition to environmental science.
g.zheng@westernsydney.edu.au

Potential Supervisors

To find a prospective HDR supervisor, please visit our Potential Supervisors page.

Contact Person

For more information about the research area, please contact Cindy Kersaitis via email c.kersaitis@westernsydney.edu.au or phone (02) 4620 3330.