Physics


Overview of the Research Area

Physics at Western Sydney University has active research programs in a range of experimental, observational and theoretical fields, aimed at a deeper understanding of our physical world. Our biomedical physics researchers are able to look into tissues and cells on a subatomic level with magnetic eyes, and make nanoscale repairs to body tissue using lasers.

Our astronomers are using world-leading observatories, surveying the night sky across the spectrum from radio waves (link to EMU) to gamma rays (link to CTA). We are studying the aftermath of supernovae explosions, simulating the formation of galaxies on supercomputers, observing energetic jets of plasma being blasted into the universe by supermassive black holes, using machine learning techniques to map out the largest survey or radio galaxies ever assembled, and more.

Researchers

Dr Ain De Horta

Dr Ain De Horta
Research expertise and interests:
A.DeHorta@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Allan Torres

Dr Allan Torres
Research expertise and interests:
A.Torres@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Antonio Lauto

Dr Antonio Lauto
Research expertise and interests:
A.Lauto@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Luke Barnes

Dr Luke Barnes
Research expertise and interests:
L.Barnes2@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Timothy Stait-Gardner

Prof Bill Price

Prof Bill Price
Research expertise and interests:
w.price@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof Miroslav Filipovic

Prof Ray Norris

Prof Ray Norris
Research expertise and interests:
Ray.Norris@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Nick Tothill

Dr Nick Tothill
Research expertise and interests:
N.Tothill@westernsydney.edu.au

Contact Person

For more information about the research area, please contact Professor Miroslav Filipovic via email M.Filipovic@westernsydney.edu.au or phone (02) 4736 0836.