Biological Sciences


Overview of the Research Area

A diverse and interesting array of biological research is undertaken in the school spanning from working at the molecular level to analysis of the biological impact of climate change. Areas of biological research also overlap with other areas of the university including medical science, environment science and zoology. There are also staff with a strong research interest in Biology education.

Research focusing on structure-function studies of genes, peptides and proteins are carried out by several groups whereby they use modern tools in molecular biology and protein chemistry. Using state of the art instrumentation such NMR, mass spectrometry and confocal imaging, research projects aim to investigate the cellular dynamics and functions of proteins and genes. Examples of projects include cellular oxidative stress, the structure and function of neuropeptide-metal binding, cell signalling, gene activation and therapy and post-translational modification.

Groups involved in microbiology are studying the importance of survival and delivery of probiotic bacteria and their interactions with the immune system, natural gut bacteria and pathogens. Other projects include rapid method development for detection of pathogens in food together and the ecology and mechanisms of gastrointestinal pathogenesis. The role of biofilms in the persistence and transmission of bacterial pathogens in disease and methods for prevention and control are other important areas of research in the school.

Several groups work on bioactive natural products from micro-organisms to plants. This includes the study of antibiotics and other bioactive compounds from soil bacteria and cyanobacteria, investigating the biosynthesis and regulation and delivery into the environment. Other projects look to identify plant-derived antibiotics and determine mechanisms of tolerance.

Other areas of expertise include studying the eye and the chemistry of tear film, working at the interface of biology and physical chemistry. Expertise also exists in studying the response of marine organisms to climate change.

You may like to include information about the focus areas of the research area, specific research strengths, research links with industry/community, facilities that researchers/collaborators/students have access to within the School, and a summary of recent research grants that have been attained.

Researchers

Prof Thomas Millar

Prof Thomas Millar
Research Expertise and Interest: eye research, biochemistry
T.Millar@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Jo-Anne Chuck

Dr Jo-Anne Chuck
Research Expertise and Interest: Bioactive compounds, biochemistry, microbiology
j.chuck@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Mark Jones

Dr Mark Jones
Research Expertise and Interest: Cell Biology, biochemist
m.r.jones@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Michelle Moffitt

Dr Michelle Moffitt
Research Expertise and Interest: Bioactive Compounds
M.Moffitt@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Michael Phillips

Dr Michael Phillips
Research Expertise and Interest: Probiotic bacteria, environmental microbiology
M.Phillips@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Sebastian Holmes

Dr Sebastian Holmes
Research Expertise and Interest: Marine Biology
S.Holmes@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Julie Old

Assoc Prof Julie Old
Research Expertise and Interest:
J.Old@westernsydney.edu.au

Assoc Prof Oula Ghannoum

Dr Adrian Renshaw

Dr Adrian Renshaw
Research Expertise and Interest:
A.Renshaw@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Alexie Papanicolaou

Dr Alexie Papanicolaou
Hawkesbury Institute For The Environment
Research Expertise and Interest:
A.Papanicolaou@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Chris Cazzonelli

Dr Chris Cazzonelli
Hawkesbury Institute For The Environment 
Research Expertise and Interest:
C.Cazzonelli@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Gabriel Perrone

Dr Gabriel Perrone
Research Expertise and Interest:
G.Perrone@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Hayley Green

Dr Hayley Green
Research Expertise and Interest:
G.Perrone@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Jessica Meade

Dr Jessica Meade
Hawkesbury Institute For The Environment 
Research Expertise and Interest:
J.Meade@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Jonathan Plett

Dr Jonathan Plett
Hawkesbury Institute For The Environment
Research Expertise and Interest:
J.Plett@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Mark Temple

Dr Mark Temple
Research Expertise and Interest:
M.Temple@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Ming Wu

Dr Ming Wu
Research Expertise and Interest:
M.Wu@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Paul Rymer

Dr Paul Rymer
Hawkesbury Institute For The Environment 
Research Expertise and Interest:
P.Rymer@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Thomas Jeffries

Dr Tony Haigh

Dr Tony Haigh
Research Expertise and Interest:
a.haigh@westernsydney.edu.au

Prof Eileen McLaughlin

Contact Person

For more information about the research area, please contact Prof. Thomas Millar via Email: T.Millar@westernsydney.edu.au Phone:(02) 9685 9901