1980 –  Michael Birt (VC, University of Wollongong) proposes a federated network model for regional higher education extension.

1981 – John Aquilina elected to represent state seat of Blacktown.
Community organisations such as ARROW (Active Responsible Residents of Werrington) and the ‘UniWest Committee’ (Blacktown Council) form around schools and community institutions to campaign for better services in the West.
Milperra College of Advanced Education (CAE) proposed for merger. Political campaign results in the establishment of courses in Campbelltown (1982) and finally agreement to fuse the Milperra and Campbelltown campuses as ‘Macarthur Institute of Higher Education’ (1983).

1983 – Report of the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission (CTEC) Working Party on Outer Metropolitan Areas.
Susan Ryan becomes Federal Education Minister. 

1984 – Susan Ryan (Federal Education Minister) writes to NSW Premier (Neville Wran) proposing a technical education solution for Western Sydney. Wran and Deputy Principal (Ron Mulock) reject the proposal, and call for a University for Sydney’s West.
Rodney Cavalier becomes NSW Minister for Education.
Work begins on Campbelltown campus.

1984 – Graham Swain attempts unsuccessfully to change the name of Hawkesbury Agricultural College (HAC) to Hawkesbury Institute of Technology.
Aboriginal Rural Education Program established at Macarthur.

1985 – Wran and Cavalier establish the Ministerial Committee to Review the Structure of Higher Education in Western Sydney (‘First Parry Report’).
Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (WSROC) Seminar on Future Directions for Higher Education in Western Sydney, Westmead. 

1986 – First buildings on Campbelltown campus of MIHE used for teaching.
Supplementary Report of the Ministerial Committee to Review the Structure of Higher Education in Western Sydney (‘Second Parry Report’).
‘Commonwealth-State Joint Working Party on Higher Education in Western Sydney’ formed to resolve clash between State and Commonwealth. (‘Third Parry Report’).
University of Western Sydney Advisory Council Act, No. 49, Lionel Murphy, then Peter Wilenski appointed to Chair the Council.
Ellis Swinbourne retires as Principal of Kingswood CAE: Jillian Maling selected as Principal.

1987 – Chifley University Interim Council (CUIC) Act, No. 113, Peter Wilenski appointed to Chair the Council.
Ralph Rawlinson appointed as Planning Vice-Chancellor.
University of Sydney staff work on academic development through ‘Chifley University College’, while CUIC staff work on site development and planning.
Main Local Government Areas (Penrith, Parramatta, Blacktown, Liverpool) launch campaigns for location of a university campus in their area.
Barry Unsworth (Premier, NSW) and Bob Hawke (Prime Minister) announce Chifley University as a University College based at Werrington.
Local Government Steering Committee for the Promotion of Chifley University (LGSCPCU) established by Penrith Council under Ron Mulock.
Opening of dedicated Theatre building on Kingswood CAE.
Higher education: a policy discussion paper (Dawkins ‘Green Paper’) foreshadows the end of the binary system.
Parramatta Council agitate for Parramatta South campus to be used as a university campus.
John Dawkins officially opened the Campbelltown campus.

1988 – Greiner Coalition Government comes to power under Nick Greiner.
Terry Metherell sworn in as Minister for Education.
CUIC ‘frozen’, and the CEOs of Nepean CAE, Hawkesbury Agricultural College and the University of Sydney form a negotiating committee to come to a ‘Heads of Agreement’. Metherell then announces dissolution of CUIC and plan for ‘a first-class, multicampus university in Western Sydney’, based around plans for a citywide university (based on the University of Sydney) and a state wide university (based on UNSW). A Western Sydney University will not be named after a political figure. LGSCPCU protest the dissolution of CUIC.
Second ‘Commonwealth-State Joint Working Party on Higher Education in Western Sydney’ reports on options for a university in Western Sydney.
Higher education in Western Sydney: report of the Commonwealth-State Joint Working Party.
[‘Fourth Parry Report’], emerges: Dawkins and Metherell divided over Options 3 & 5.
Dawkins ‘White Paper’ released, ending binary system, forcing institutional mergers.
Gus Guthrie (VC, UTS) rejects Metherell’s Option 3 on ‘basic principles’. Dawkins states that he will not fund Option 3 – Metherell frames new legislation around the federated model proposed in Option 5 and the Heads of Agreement agreed on by the heads of Nepean, Hawkesbury and the University of Sydney.
Second Reading of the University of Western Sydney Bill (1988) in NSW Parliament.
University of Western Sydney Act (1988) given Royal Assent, bringing the University into being on 1 January 1989.
Sir Ian Turbott AO CMG CVO named as President of the First Meeting. Taking advantage of his wife, Nancy’s, Californian connections, he visits the University of California system to obtain insight into federated systems. 

1989 – January 30: John Ward (VC, Sydney) inducted as Acting Vice-Chancellor.  Ian Turbott unanimously elected as foundation Chancellor of the new University: he announces that the University of Western Sydney will be a cutting edge technical and industrial university. At the same time, the Commonwealth informs the University it will largely fund undergraduate load increases only and not research or postgraduate places.
Wendy Holland succeeds Nerida Blair and Ian Perdrisat as head of Macarthur Aboriginal Education Unit, including Aboriginal Rural Education Program.
Macarthur Institute of Higher Education informed that it will not be permitted to stand alone, and must merge with a university partner.
First meeting of the UWS Academic Board.
Sir Ian Turbott inducted as Chancellor. Brian Smith commences work as foundation Vice Chancellor.
Some Hawkesbury students protest at the loss of identity implied by joining the University.
Macarthur Institute of Higher Education celebrates ‘Joining Day’ as it becomes the third Member of the federation.