1902 – H W Potts begins as Principal of Hawkesbury Agricultural College (HAC).

1911 – Introduction of Evening Continuation Schools.

1921 – E. A. Southee appointed as Principal of HAC.

1944 – Commonwealth Reconstruction Training Scheme commenced, establishing the principle of federal involvement in mass, higher education.

1949 – New South Wales University of Technology (later University of NSW) established. Ben Chifley (Prime Minister) delivers his ‘Light on the Hill’ speech.

1952 – Gough Whitlam enters Parliament as MHR for Werriwa, on the southwest fringe of metropolitan Sydney.

1953 – Former HMS Nabstock, and immigration settlement site at Blacktown, becomes HMAS Nirimba.

1957 – Murray Report lays the basis for the expansion of the Australian Higher Education Sector.

1961 – Parramatta North site becomes home to NSW government laboratories for plant diseases and insect pests. 

1964 – Macquarie University established to cope with rising numbers from the Northern suburbs, rather than the needed university in the West. Martin Report proposes a three tier post-secondary system for Technical, College of Advanced Education and University expansion.

1967 – Committee of Advice on Rural Studies established (CARS).

1969 – New South Wales Institute of Technology (NSWIT) (later University of Technology, Sydney) established. NSW Advanced Education Board established.
Westmead Teachers College established.
State Planning Authority designates ‘University’ spaces in Campbelltown and Werrington in the Sydney Region Outline Plan.