Key people in the School of Social Sciences and Psychology

Dean's Unit

Directors of Academic Programs

Emma Waterton Portrait
Assoc Prof Emma Waterton
Geography, Tourism & Urban Studies

Assoc Prof Mary Hawkins
Sociology &

Dr Zulfan Tadjoeddin
Humanitarian & Development Studies

Prof Linda Briskman
Social Work, Community Welfare

Selda Dagistahli Portrait
Dr Selda Dagistanli (Acting)
Criminology & Policing

Dr Jeff Foster
Psychology Behavioral Science

Dr Phoebe Bailey
Dr Phoebe Bailey
Psychology Human Behaviour

Sheridan LinnellAssoc Prof Sheridan Linnell
Assoc Prof Sheridan Linnell
Clinical Psychology & Therapy Studies

Director of Teaching and Learning

Dr Tim Griffin
BA (Uni Qld); PhD (Uni Qld)

Director of Research and Higher Degree Research

Professor Adam Possamai
BSocSc(Hons); GDipEd (Leuven); PhD (LaTrobe)

Director of Engagement and International

Jacqueline Clements

Director of Psychology Clinics
Academic Group Leader for Clinical Psychology

Professor Craig Gonsalvez
BA (Uni Baroda); MA (Uni Bangalore); MA (Uni Baroda); PhD (Uni Bangalore)

Head of Discipline (Psychology)

Professor Tania Meade
PhD (USyd); MA (USyd); BA (Macq)

Higher Degree Research

PhD Coordinator (all disciplines)
Dr Peter Bansel

Honours Coordinators

Psychology Honours Coordinator
Dr Nida Denson
PhD (UCLA), MA (CSULB), BA (Wash U)

Social Science Honours Coordinator
Dr Neil Hall
PhD (UWS); BSc (USyd); BSocWk (USyd); MHlthSc (UWS)

Academic Course Advisors


Bachelor of Anthropology
Bankstown: Dr Irena Veljanova Penrith: Dr Helena Onnudottir

Bachelor of Community and Social Development
Dr. Sonia Tascon

Bachelor of Community Welfare
Liverpool: Dr Justine O'Sullivan Parramatta: Rosemary Qummouh

Bachelor of Criminology, Bachelor of Criminal and Community Justice
Liverpool: Dr Ken Wooden Penrith: Dr Ana Rodas

Bachelor Cyber Security and Behaviour
Dr Kell Tremayne

Bachelor Humanitarian and Development Studies
Dr Garry Stevens

Bachelor Planning
Dr Cameron McAuliffe

Bachelor of Policing, Bachelor of Policing (Leadership Program)
Liverpool: Dr Ken Wooden Penrith: Dr Ana Rodas

Bachelor of Psychology, Graduate Diploma in Psychological Studies (1.5 year accredited sequence)
Bankstown: Dr Karen Mattock Penrith: Dr David Arness Parramatta: Dr Ana-Maria Bliuc Honours: Dr Nida Denson

Graduate Diploma in Psychology (4th year program only)
Dr Nida Denson

Bachelor of Social Science, Bachelor of Social Science (Advanced)
Liverpool: Dr Irena Veljanova Penrith: Dr Helena Onnudottir Parramatta: Dr Julie Wen

Bachelor of Social Science (Psychology)
Liverpool/Bankstown: Dr Karen Mattock Penrith: Dr David Arness Parramatta: Dr Ana-Maria Bliuc

Bachelor of Social Work (Note: Master of Social Work (Q) listed under postgraduate below)
Liverpool: Dr Justine O'Sullivan, Parramatta: Rosemary Qummouh 

Bachelor of Science, Criminology and Psychological Studies (Online)
Dr Kell Tremayne

Bachelor of Tourism Management
Dr Julie Wen


Master of Art Therapy
Dr Joy Paton and Dr Catherine Camden-Pratt

Graduate Diploma in Counselling
Penny Gardener

Master of Psychotherapy and Counselling
Penny Gardener

Master of Clinical Psychology, Master of Professional Psychology, PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology (Combined)
Dr Janet Conti

Master of Humanitarian and  Development Studies
Dr. Nichole Georgeou

Master of International Criminology
Professor Stephen Tomsen

Master of Research
Dr Rae Dufty-Jones

Master of Social Science, Diploma of Social Science
Dr Jane Durie

Master of Social Work (Q)
Dr Hong-Jae Park

Master of Urban Management and Planning, Planning pathway
Dr Cameron McAuliffe

Academic Student Transition & Retention Success (STaRS) Coordinator

Dr Garth Lean

Equity and Diversity Coordinator (incorporating School Disability Coordinator)

Dr Irena Veljanova

Director of International Engagement

Jacqueline Clements

School Manager

Melissa Maucort