School of Science

Environment and Ecology

Discipline Lead | Mark Tjoelker

Western Sydney University is tackling the most pressing environmental and ecological challenges of our time. How are native and managed ecosystems impacted by climate change? How do we manage soil, water and plants to sustain productivity, biodiversity and ecosystem services critical to our planet?

Our research stands out among the best in Australia (Excellence in Research for Australia). Our academics lead top-ranked fields, from soil sciences and microbiology to plant biology, ecology and evolutionary biology and drive impact through ecological applications and forestry sciences.

The Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment, one of Western’s flagship research institutes, is a world-leader in research on global environmental change and home to numerous Australian Research Council fellows, whose explorations range from microbes to continents.

Inspired by a thriving nexus between cutting-edge research and excellence in teaching, Environment and Ecology at Western is a magnet for top students who go on to make a difference in the world.

Academics for this Discipline