Vice-Chancellor’s Gender Equity Committee

Terms of reference

The Vice-Chancellor's Gender Equity Committee (VCGEC) is an Advisory Committee to the Vice-Chancellor. The role of the Committee is to promote and improve gender equity at Western Sydney University by:

  • developing, implementing and monitoring a Western Sydney University Gender Equality Strategy
  • commissioning works and reports and gathering data on gender equity
  • recommending targets for improving the representation of women in management and leadership positions
  • undertaking policy reviews and special projects
  • reviewing and making recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor on the Employer of Choice application

The Committee meets 3-4 times a year and provides meeting reports to the Executive Committee.


Membership is by invitation from the Vice-Chancellor for a term of 2 years and the committee is broadly representative of the Western Sydney University community.


  • Professor Barney Glover, Vice-Chancellor and President

Deputy Chair:

  • Professor Janice Aldrich-Wright, Director of Research (Medical Science), School of Science and Health


  • Professor Jonathon Allen, Head, The Academy
  • Dr Ragbir Bhathal, Lecturer, School of Computer, Data and Mathematical Sciences
  • Michelle Falconer, Senior Manager Equity and Diversity
  • Ms Susan Hudson, Executive Director, Office of the Executive Director Human Resources
  • Dr Anne Jamison, Deputy Dean, School of Humanities and Communication Arts
  • Mr Tony Lazzara, Executive Director, Office of Business Intelligence and Performance
  • Ms Elen Seymour, Director Academic Programs, School of Law
  • Professor Simeon Simoff, Dean, School of Computer, Data and Mathematical Sciences
  • Associate Professor Meg Smith, Deputy Dean, School of Business
  • Professor Deborah Sweeney, Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Vice President (Research, Enterprise & International)
  • Professor Michelle Trudgett, Pro Vice-Chancellor, PVC Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Education, Strategy and Consultation
  • Dr Helen Wu, Senior Lecturer, School of Engineering

Executive Officer:

  • Ms Katie Hayes, Senior Project Officer, Equity and Diversity


  • Ms Vanessa Noble, Project Support Officer, Equity and Diversity

Athena Swan logoAthena Swan Member logoWGEA logo