Associate Professor Denis Byrne Elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities

Photo of Associate Professor Denis Byrne.Congratulations to Associate Professor Denis Byrne who is a newly elected Fellow to the Australian Academy of the Humanities (AAH), the highest honour for achievement in the humanities in Australia. Associate Professor Byrne has been recognised for his work in heritage studies, and joins 16 others (opens in a new window)as newly elected Fellows to the Academy.

In an announcement today, President of the Academy Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA said 'In our 50th anniversary year, I am honoured to welcome the new members of our Fellowship, elected in recognition of their distinguished achievement in the humanities disciplines and their contribution to Australian cultural life.'

'Those elected come from a range of fields including archaeology, classics, history, philosophy, media and communications, religion, Asian studies, literature, art history, linguistics and musicology, as well as creative practitioners from across the arts and culture sector. They demonstrate the richness and diversity of the humanities in Australia today.'

Associate Professor Byrne joins ICS members Distinguished Professor Ien Ang, Professor Tony Bennett, Professor Gay Hawkins, Emeritus Professor Bob Hodge, Emeritus Professor David Rowe and Emeritus Professor Tim Rowse as the newest AAH Fellow.

Posted: 18 November 2019.