SWS Local Health District Academic Units

Western was recently successful in some large scale academic units with SWS Local Health District. Four Academic Units (AUs) were approved, of which Western has a significant involvement in three:

  • Women’s Health Initiative Translational Unit (WHITU) – led by Prof Annemarie Hennessy (Dean, SoM | THRI) and Dr Angela Makris (SoM). $2.25m over 5 years.
  • Limb Preservation and WoundCare (LPW) – Lead by Mr Matt Malone (Conjoint Senior Lecturer, SoM WSU) and involving A/Prof Slade Jensen (SoM), among others. $2.25m over 5 years.
  • BestSTART – lead by Prof Valsa Eapen (UNSW) and involving Prof John Whitehall (SoM). $1.05m over 5 years.

This funding will assist the units to build expert teams who will conduct clinical trials, initiate research, deliver cutting-edge care and ultimately revolutionise health outcomes.