Our Partners


South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD) (opens in a new window)

SWSLHD has funded DOMTRU as an academic unit for 3 years and provides the administrative support, funding for postgraduate and postdoc opportunities and for initial funding for projects intended to progress to full grant applications or where applicable district wide services


South Western Sydney Primary Health Network (SWSPHN) (opens in a new window)

DOMTRU is very much about working with GPs and the primary care team in the community. GPs are involved in most of the above programmes.  SSW GP Link have set up a diabetes committee to collaborate with DOMTRU to improve diabetes services capacity in primary care, support GPs in their management of patients with diabetes and coordinate diabetes related CPD in the primary care sphere. SWSPHN and SSW GP Link have funded access to the Aus-CDEP programme for busy health care professionals and access will be rolled out over the next 12 months.


SPHERE (opens in a new window)

DOMTRU members are respected leaders in the field of diabetes and obesity- from basic science researchers and educators to clinicians directly involved in translational research representing multiple disciplines. DOMTRU includes cardiologists, endocrinologists, renal physicians, bariatric surgeons, gastroenterologists, paediatricians, dentists, ophthalmologists, optometrists, nurses, midwives, podiatrists, pharmacists, diabetes nurse educators, working together. Our team has experts in public health and health economics, including cross-cultural public health, behavioural and organisational psychology. Leading basic scientists who are already working in established collaborations with clinicians to translate novel discoveries will be heavily involved in our projects, across multiple institutions from two very different geographical locations in Sydney.

Our Funders

  South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD)
  South Western Sydney Primary Health Network (SWSPHN)
  Wentworth Health Care
  Western Sydney University
 National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
 Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
  Astra Zeneca
  Novo Nordisk
  Baker Institute
 National Institutes of Health (NIH)/Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF)