Upcoming Events

(Con)spirituality, Science and COVID-19 Colloquium

Deakin University and Western Sydney University

25-26 March 2021

25th March

Time

Speaker/s

Title

6.00-6.15pm AEDT

Andrew Singleton (Deakin) and Cristina Rocha (Western Sydney University)

Anna Halafoff (Deakin) & Cristina Rocha (Western Sydney University) – Intro

Acknowledgement of Country

Welcome  

INSBS (Con)spirituality Project and Colloquium Introduction

6:15-7.45pm AEDT

(7.15-8.45am London)

(8.15-9.45am Barcelona)

Keynote Panel

CHAIR: Cristina Rocha (Western Sydney University)

David Voas (University College London)

Mar Griera (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)

David Robertson (Open University)

Conspirituality and COVID-19

26th March

Time

Speaker/s

Title

9.30-10.25am AEDT

(25th March, 3.30-4.25pm Los Angeles; 25th March,

6.30-7.55pm Toronto)

Keynote Panel

CHAIR: Enqi Weng (Deakin)

Derek Beres (Conspirituality.net)

Matthew Remski (Conspirituality.net)

Julian Walker (Conspirituality.net)

Conspirituality.net

10.30-11.25am AEDT

(25th March, 4.30-5.25pm Vancouver)

Keynote Panel

CHAIR: Alexandra Roginski (Deakin)

Paul Bramadat (University of Victoria)

Naomi Smith (Federation University of Australia)

Tom Aechtner (University of Queensland)

Vaccine Hesitancy and COVID-19

Break

  

11.45am-1.00pm AEDT

Keynote Panel

CHAIR: Matthew Sharpe (Deakin)

Anna Halafoff (Deakin)

Andrew Singleton (Deakin) and

Cristina Rocha (Western Sydney)

Alexandra Roginski (Deakin)

Enqi Weng and Emily Marriott (Deakin)

(Con)spirituality, Science and COVID-19 in Australia

Lunch

  

1.30-3.00 pm AEDT

CHAIR: Anna Halafoff (Deakin)

Matthew Sharpe (Deakin)

Geoff Boucher and Helen Young (Deakin)

Sarah Wilson (sarahwilson.com)

(Con)spirituality, QAnon and the Far Right I

Break

  

3.15-4.45pm AEDT

CHAIR: Andrew Singleton (Deakin)

Lydia Khalil & Vivian Gerrand (Deakin)

Kaz Ross (University of Tasmania)

Bernard Doherty (Charles Sturt University)

(Con)spirituality, QAnon and the Far Right II

4.45-5.00 pm

AEDT

Closing Remarks

Anna Halafoff (Deakin) and Andrew Singleton (Deakin)

 

SEMINAR SERIES

RELIGION, CRISIS AND DISASTER

February 24 – April 28, 2021

Convenors: Richard Vokes & Cristina Rocha

Global - via Zoom
https://uwa.zoom.us/j/6771792763 |  Password: Arsenal

Start time: 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney
Except for Coleman: Tues 2nd March, 8pm Toronto & Weds 3rd March, 9am Perth | 12pm Sydney

More info: richard.vokes@uwa.edu.au or c.rocha@westernsydney.edu.au

church pic

February 24, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Prof Birgit Meyer (Utrecht, Philosophy and Religious Studies)
‘Religion and the Pandemic’

March 2, 2021 (Tues) - 8pm Toronto
March 3, 2021 (Wed) - 9am Perth | 12pm Sydney

Prof Simon Coleman (Toronto, Anthropology and Religious Studies)
‘Pilgrimage Through the Pandemic: Crisis, Contagion and the Remaking of Presence’

March 10, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Dr Ramon Sarro (Oxford University, Anthropology)
‘1921-2021: One Hundred Years of Crisis and Prophecy’

March 17, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Dr Richard Vokes (The University of Western Australia, Anthropology & Sociology), Prof Cristina Rocha, & Dr Kathleen Openshaw (Western Sydney, Anthropology)
‘Becoming Burundian, African and Black in Australia: Pentecostalism, Disruption, and   the Everyday Politics of Place’

March 31, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Dr Katrien Pype (Leuven, Anthropology and African Studies)
‘Kinshasa’s Pastors and Sex Scandals: Reconsidering Exposure, Accountability, and Sacre Bodies’

April 7, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Prof David Gellner (Oxford University, Anthropology)
‘Religion and Crisis in Nepal’

April 14, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Dr Sam Han (University of Western Australia, Anth & Sociology)
‘Shincheonji and Covid-19: Observations on Biopolitical Mediatization in South Korea’

April 21, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Dr Martijn Oosterbaan (Utrecht, Anthropology)
‘Mystical in/security: Perpetual Crises, Religion and Urban Margins Across the Globe’

April 28, 2021 - 8am UK | 9am Euro | 4pm Perth | 7pm Sydney

Prof Clara Saraiva (Nova Lisboa, Anthropology)
‘Is God in the House Tonight? Ritual Despair and Empty Temples’

Sponsors: Western Sydney University | The University of Western Australia | Institute of Advanced Studies | The Australian Association for the Study of Religion (AASR)

^ Back To Top