Western Sydney Sculpture Award and Exhibition

The health, safety and wellbeing of students, staff and our communities are our highest priority.

Western Sydney University is guided by Australian Government and health authority advice, and we are taking all necessary precautions to ensure the safety of our community. 

The ninth Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition will take place from 7 May – 6 June 2021.

You may also download the Exhibition Map

Congratulations to our 2021 winners and finalists

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram (@wsusculpture)

Winners of the 2021 Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition are: 

  • Western Sydney University Acquisitive Sculpture Award (work is acquired by the university, up to the maximum value of $30,000)

    - John Fitzmaurice, for "Dragging the Chain"

  • Janice Reid Site Specific Sculpture Award ($5,000 - non-acquisitive)

    - Jennifer Cochrane, for "Cubes with Trees"

  • Peter Eichhorn Family Sculpture Award ($5,000 - non-acquisitive)

    - Samantha Stephenson, for "Notion of Flight"

  • Landcom People's Choice Award ($5,000 - non-acquisitive)
  • Mark Booth
  • Jennifer Cochrane
  • Chris Edwards
  • Merran Esson
  • Harrie Fasher
  • John Fitzmaurice
  • Jim Flook
  • Martin George
  • Akira Kamada
  • Bec Litvan
  • Ludwig Mlcek
  • Ingrid Morley
  • Vlasé Nikoleski
  • Denese Oates
  • John Petrie
  • Kirsteen Pieterse
  • Louis Pratt
  • Samantha Stephenson
  • Jayanto Tan
  • Arthur Wicks

2018 Landcom People’s Choice Award Winner, Gimme Shelter by Michael Purdy

Landcom People's Choice Award

Our sponsor, Landcom, is again offering a $5,000 cash prize for this year's People’s Choice Award. 

During our exhibition, you can cast your vote for the Landcom People’s Choice Award for 2021. The winner will be announced at the end of the Sculpture Exhibition.

Judging will be on the basis of the number of votes a sculpture receives via a ballot, open to the public throughout the duration of the exhibition. The sculpture that has the most votes by the end of the exhibition will be awarded the Landcom People’s Choice Award.

One vote per visitor to the exhibition on an individual voting form produced and provided by the University, will be considered a valid vote. Voting is to be carried out by an individual whilst onsite and put into the ballot box located at the information tent. Any photocopied forms distributed by artists will not be considered as valid votes.