Western Sydney Sculpture Award and Exhibition

The health, safety and wellbeing of students, staff and our communities are our highest priority.

Western Sydney University is guided by Australian Government and health authority advice, and we are taking all necessary precautions to ensure the safety of our community. 

The ninth Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition took place from 7 May – 6 June 2021.

You may also download the Exhibition Map

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram (@wsusculpture)

Congratulations to our 2021 winners

Western Sydney University Acquisitive Sculpture Award



John Fitzmaurice

Dragging the Chain
Corten steel and stainless steel

Work is acquired by the university, up to the maximum value of $30,000

Janice Reid Site Specific Sculpture Award

Jennifer Cochrane

Cubes with Trees
Galvanised pipe and galvanised hand rail fittings

$5,000 - non-acquisitive

Peter Eichhorn Family Sculpture Award

Samantha Stephenson

Notion of Flight
Painted steel

$5,000 - non-acquisitive

Landcom People's Choice Award


Louis Pratt

Coal, resin and steel

Our sponsor, Landcom, awarded a $5,000 cash prize for this year's People’s Choice Award. 

During the exhibition, you were able to cast your vote for the Landcom People’s Choice Award for 2021.

Judging was on the basis of the number of votes a sculpture received via a ballot, open to the public throughout the duration of the exhibition. The sculpture that had the most votes by the end of the exhibition was awarded the Landcom People’s Choice Award.

2021 Finalists

  • Mark Booth
  • Jennifer Cochrane
  • Chris Edwards
  • Merran Esson
  • Harrie Fasher
  • John Fitzmaurice
  • Jim Flook
  • Martin George
  • Akira Kamada
  • Bec Litvan
  • Ludwig Mlcek
  • Ingrid Morley
  • Vlasé Nikoleski
  • Denese Oates
  • John Petrie
  • Kirsteen Pieterse
  • Louis Pratt
  • Samantha Stephenson
  • Jayanto Tan
  • Arthur Wicks