Researchers

Research interests: gender and sexual diversities, non-binary and genderqueer, trans*, men and masculinities, social and political theory, queer theory, whiteness and feminisms

Research interests: childhood studies; diversity and difference in educational contexts; gender equity; gender and sexuality studies; gender and sexuality diversity in childhood and young people; sexual citizenship; sexuality education; feminist theory, queer theory and feminist poststructural theory

Professor Andrew Gorman-Murray, a.gorman-murray@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Social and Cultural Geography; Gender, Sexuality and Space; Urban Studies; Rural Studies; Geographies of Home.

Professor Janette Perz, School of Medicine, j.perz@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: reproductive and sexual health with a particular focus on gendered experiences, subjectivity and identity

Professor Jane Ussher, School of Medicine, j.ussher@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: LGBTQ Health; sexuality and the reproductive body; as well as exploring gendered and sexuality in cancer survivorship

Associate Professor Nicole Asquith, n.asquith@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Criminology; LGBTIQ+ inclusion; Policing; Victimology

Associate Professor Nida Denson, n.denson@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Diversity, diversity-related initiatives, educational contexts; student-institution fit; educational access and opportunity, impact of diversity on student development, hierarchical linear modelling, meta-analysis.

Associate Professor Kate Huppatz, k.huppatz@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: work and employment, social class, households and embodiment

Associate Professor Susanne Gannon, School of Education, s.gannon@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: educational research including gender equity and diversity; creative writing pedagogies; media and cultural studies in educational research and educational policy

Research interests: European cultural or intellectual history, historiography or historical theory, sexuality or gender studies, history of medicine, science, sport or health across time and place

Associate Professor Tania Ferfolja, School of Education

Research interests: LGBTQI issues in education; preservice teacher education; academic service learning; refugee youth and schooling

Associate Professor Jacqueline Ullman, School of Education

Research interests: Equity and Social Justice Education; Gender and Sexuality; LGBTQI issues in education; Developmental Psychology; Research Design and Analysis; Self-Concept; Sociology of Education; Sociology of Gender and Sexuality; Stigma Management

Associate Professor Jane Mears, j.mears@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: collaborative engaged action research projects with communities and government in the areas of women and caring, aged care and violence against older women

Research interests: Digital life; Education Policy; Health and Well-being; Qualitative and Post-Structural Research Theory and Methodology; Sexuality, Gender and Ethics; Subjectivity

Dr Jenna Condiej.condie@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Activism; Curriculum Design; Identity; Place identity; Qualitative Methodologies; Sustainable Urban Environments; User-experience design; public housing; social entrepreneurship; social media; urban redevelopment

Dr Selda Dagistanli, s.dagistanli@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Racialised Gender Violence; Cultures of abuse; Racism and multiculturalism

Dr Emilee Gilbert, e.gilbert@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: gender, health and sexuality; women's negotiation of paid and unpaid work; qualitative research methods, public health policies and practices, post-structural feminist theory

Corinne Sullivan, School of Social Sciences, Corrinne.Sullivan@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: experiences and effects of body and Identity in relation to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people

Dr George Turner, g.turner@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: reducing health disparities by advancing sexual health equity in areas such as sexual justice, LGBTQIA2S issues, disability, and sexuality education; social work, psychotherapy, sex therapy

Dr Geir Henning Presterudstuen, g.presterudstuen@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: intersections between social categories such as ethnicity, gender, class and sexuality in context of modernity and social change, anthropology of the body, lived religion and beliefs in the supernatural supernatural.

Dr Ryan Storr, School of Science and Health, r.storr@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Diversity in Community Sport; LGBTI+ inclusion in sporting organisations; Sport Volunteering

Dr Brahm Marjadi, School of Medicine, B.Marjadi@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Cross-cultural knowledge translation; Disease prevention and control in low-resource settings; Methods, evaluation and impact of community engagement and community engaged learning

Dr Ryan Thorneycroft, Sociology, R.Thorneycroft@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Crip Theory; Queer Theory; Subjectivity; Violence

Dr Sowbhagya Michael, School of Medicine, S.Micheal@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: teaching innovations, community engagement in medical education, women's health, gender and human rights.

Dr Ashlee Gore, Sociology, Ashlee.Gore@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: gender, including feminist jurisprudence, feminist legal theory, discourse analysis, psychosocial criminology, feminist psychoanalysis, and cultural theory.

Dr Ben Hanckel, Institute for Culture and Society, B.Hanckel@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: youth studies, sexuality and gender, Digital Health and wellbeing, social activism.

Bijan Kardouni, b.kardouni@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Queer Theory, LGBTIQ Studies, Homophobia, Execution of Gay Men, Foucauldian Discourse Analysis, Media Analysis, Autoethnography.

Dr Rimple Mehta, Social Work and Community Welfare, R.Mehta2@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: gender, criminalisation of mobility, trafficking and incarceration.

Dan Perell, d.perell@westernsydney.edu.au

Cris Townley, c.townley@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: Identity and belonging in parenting groups; social policy; intergenerational queer sociology; trans and gender diverse children

Rosie Shorter, School of Social Sciences

Leisha Du Preez, School of Social Sciences, L.DuPreez@westernsydney.edu.au

Research interests: sexual violence, night-time economy, gendered responsibilisation, responsibility and safety

Alina Ewald

Research interests: fatherhood, class, masculinity, working fathers

Liz Schmidt 20037475@student.westernsydney.edu.au

Adjunct Members

Research interests: HPV and HPV vaccination; vaccination delivery systems; gender and sexuality; child and adolescent health and development; LGBTI health, discrimination and violence; women’s sexual and reproductive health; research methods & design; Implementation Science and Knowledge Translation; health and education policy & practice; and (heritage and new) media.
Research interests: child abuse; adult survivors of child abuse; violence against women; social media; childhood trauma; complex trauma; dissociation