New Australia / India partnership established to address global issues of food security and climate change

Western Sydney University (WSU) will invest $5million into a partnership with the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and thirteen state agricultural universities as part of a new initiative designed to combat global food security issues presented by climate change.

The partnership has been forged between WSU, the ICAR, global industry partners and state agricultural universities. The partnership will focus on new research and developments in protected cropping and related aspects of horticulture and agriculture, as well as collaborative teaching and learning.

Over time, it is expected to make a significant contribution towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision for doubling farmers’ income.

WSU is among the top 2% of universities in the world and ranked 71st globally in the Times Higher Education Young University Rankings 2018. It is also an official signatory to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

WSU Vice Chancellor and President Professor Barney Glover said “We are delighted to formalise partnership agreements with ICAR and such prestigious Indian agricultural institutions. This is the beginning of vitally important relationships between our countries that will contribute to addressing global food security challenges. This highly innovative Indian-Australian collaboration will be driven by world’s best research, teaching and learning.”

With ICAR and the state universities, WSU will upskill industry and train early-career academics through joint research training programs in horticulture and agriculture. Industry will play a critical role in jointly funded scholarships with ICICI bank, Eurochem, Syngenta and Olam International funding scholarships and ensuring that students are industry-ready.

Director General of ICAR, Dr Trilochan Mohapatra said, “Collaborative research between ICAR and WSU will bring together researchers, academics and students from partnering institutions and provide them with a platform to benefit from mutual expertise”.

The network includes top state agricultural universities: Haryana Agricultural University, Haryana; G B Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Uttarakhand; M P University of Agriculture and Technology, Rajasthan; SK University Agricultural Science and Technology, Kashmir; Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya, West Bengal; Navsari Agricultural University, Gujarat; Y S Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry, Himachal Pradesh; The Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Maharashtra; University of Agricultural Sciences Bangalore, Karnataka; University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka; Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu; and Kerala Agricultural University, Thrissur, Kerala.

WSU is a registered provider under the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS). For more information, please visit


29 November 2018

Media Unit