Occupational English Test (OET)

The Occupational English Test (OET) is an English language test designed specifically for healthcare professionals. It assesses the language communication skills of healthcare professionals who seek to register and practise in an English-speaking environment. OET is trusted by regulators, hospitals and universities in the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Dubai and Singapore as proof of ability to communicate effectively.

OET covers all four langauge skills with an emphasis on communication in a healthcare environment:

  • Listening (approximately 45 minutes)
  • Reading (60 minutes)
  • Writing (45 minutes)
  • Speaking (approximately 20 minutes)

Fees: $587 including GST

Start Dates: See below

If you are considering sitting the OET, we highly recommend completing our OET Preparation Course first.

Available campus

Start Dates

Test Date Applications
Saturday 11 January 25 September 2019 - 9 December 2019
Saturday 8 February 30 October 2019 - 13 January 2020
Saturday 7 March 27 November 2019 - 10 February 2020
Saturday 21 March 11 December 2019 - 24 February 2020
Saturday 4 April 18 December 2019 - 9 March 2020
Sunday 19 April 8 January 2020 - 24 March 2020
Saturday 2 May 22 January 2020 - 6 April 2020
Saturday 16 May 5 February 2020 - 20 April 2020
Saturday 13 June 4 March 2020 - 18 May 2020
Saturday 27 June 18 March 2020 - 1 June 2020
Saturday 11 July 1 April 2020 - 15 June 2020
Saturday 25 July 15 April 2020 - 29 June 2020
Saturday 8 August 29 April 2020 - 13 July 2020
Saturday 22 August 13 May 2020 - 27 July 2020
Saturday 12 September 3 June 2020 - 17 August 2020
Saturday 26 September 17 June 2020 - 31 August 2020
Sunday 11 October 1 July 2020 - 15 September 2020
Saturday 24 October 15 July 2020 - 28 September 2020
Saturday 7 November 29 July 2020 - 12 October 2020
Saturday 21 November 12 August 2020 - 26 October 2020
Saturday 5 December 26 August 2020 - 9 November 2020
Saturday 19 December 9 September 2020 - 23 November 2020

Location

The test is run at our Sydney Olympic Park Campus at 8 Australia Avenue, Sydney Olympic Park. The test centre is accessed from Murray Rose Avenue (corner of Australia Avenue). Entrance to the foyer is between the Japanese restaurant called Flying Sushi and the cafe called The Coffee Club.

Fees

The cost of the OET is $587, which covers the following:

  • $7 booking fee
  • Australian Goods and Services Tax
  • Six weeks' access to the Start for Success preparation package, plus additional sample practice tests, daily language tips and masterclasses

Results

You will receive a Statement of Results which shows your score for each of the four sub-tests, on a scale from 0 to 500. Each of the four sub-tests is assessed in a specific way.

You can see an overview of your latest test scores via your online profile on the OET website, approximately 16 business days after each test day. Official copies of Statements of Results can be downloaded from your online profile. You can choose which test administration you wish to download a Statement of Results for and this will list the scores you obtained in that particular test administration.

The four sub-tests that make up the OET are reported on a scale from 0 to 500 in ten-point increments (e.g. 350, 360, 370 etc). The numerical score will be mapped to a separate letter grade for each sub-test ranging from A (highest) to E (lowest). There is no overall grade for OET.

How to Register

You can register for the test by visiting the My OET registration page.

Contact Us

If you require more information regarding this test, including test bookings, results, and test preparation, please visit the OET website.