Indigenous Australians Psychology Honours Scholarship

Scholarship Type:  Indigenous
Scholarship Group:  A

Western Sydney University Indigenous Australians Psychology Scholarships aim to encourage more Indigenous Australians to consider psychology as an accessible, valuable, and rewarding career path.


  • 50% of tuition fees for up to one year*
    *full-time, or part-time equivalent

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

Confirmation of Identity:

  • identify as an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander and submit documentation declaring and confirming Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander identity.


  • new or continuing student


  • Bachelor of Psychology (Honours)
  • Bachelor of Psychological and Social Sciences
  • Graduate Diploma in Psychology


  • be commencing study or currently enrolled in an APAC accredited fourth year (Honours) psychology program at Western Sydney University
    • for the Bachelor of Psychology (Honours) and Bachelor of Psychological Science (Honours), students must be commencing or continuing their fourth year (having already completed a minimum of 240 credit points)
    • for the Graduate Diploma in Psychology, students must be commencing or continuing in this program

Application and Selection Process

Applicants must provide a statement supporting their application indicating how they believe receiving the scholarship will assist them with their studies and future careers in psychology. This statement should give a sufficient explanation of the applicant's background and current circumstances to enable the University to judge their eligibility, need and merit.

Successful applicants will be selected based on their written application, academic potential, ability to meet the criteria, and, where appropriate, performance in an interview before a selection panel.

Further information and how to apply can be found on our Indigenous Scholarships page.

Continuing Eligibility Criteria

  • Recipients must remain enrolled at Western.
  • Recipients must maintain a minimum GPA of 5.