Award Winning Postgraduates

Our PhD and DCA candidates and alumni have won and been shortlisted for a number of prestigious literary awards.

Felicity Castagna
Felicity Castagna was shortlisted for the 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her book No More Boats published by Giramondo Publishing. The book tells the story of "a man, once a migrant himself, who finds his world imploding. He is forced to retire, his wife has left him, and his children ignore him. The 2001 Tampa crisis is the background to his despair at the disappearance of the certainties he once knew." Read the full announcement of shortlisted authors.(opens in a new window)

Peter Boyle
In 2017 Peter Boyle won the Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry at the NSW Premier's Literary Awards. His collection Ghostspeaking was described by judges as a "remarkable book — blending the best of poetry, fiction and annotated ‘translation’". The judges then describe how Peter Boyle's book "captures the lives of 11 imagined poets (and of the 12th, the poet-translator whose voice threads itself through the whole collection). These voices, and the stories they tell, remain in the mind, haunting the reader much as the ghosts of the title haunt the fictive poets."

Fiona Wright
Fiona Wright was the winner of the 2016 Kibble Award for her collection of essays Small Acts of Disappearance. Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Webby commented on Fiona Wright's work on behalf of the judging panel “With the skilful use of language seen in her prize-winning poetry, Wright writes frankly and movingly about a difficult and very personal subject. Unlike many memoirs of illness and recovery, hers is not a story of triumph over adversity. The essay form allows her to resist closure, while also providing insights into her reading, her travels and her interactions with others”.

Luke Carman
In 2015 Luke Carman, and his collection of Short Stories An Elegant Young Man, received the UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Fiction, at the NSW Premier's Literary Awards. The judges commented on how "Luke Carman's witty collection of stories heralds a new, edgy and brilliant voice in Australian fiction. Immediately the writer's erudition and craft are on display. Carman's epigrammatic stories, so perfectly suited to Giramondo's Shorts form, build in intensity and poignancy."

Michael Mohammed Ahmad was among the winners of the 2015 SMH Young Novelist of the Year for his book The Tribe. The judges wrote that "Ahmad tackles... difficult subject matter with breathtaking honesty, gesturing towards a larger social canvas beyond the mind of a child that includes the struggle of migration, economic disadvantage, the difficulties of reconciling elements of the old and the new culture. Ahmad's language is replete with lyricism, and a sense of wonder suffuses every page. It turns everyday experience into the stuff of poetry."

Felicity Castagna
Felicity Castagna was the winner of the 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Award for Young Adult Fiction for her book The Incredible Here and Now. The judges described how "Felicity Castagna exploits a series of vignettes to create a wholly satisfying, moving story: its short, sculpted chapters capture Michael's thoughts, moods and insights in quickening moments. Michael has the outward reticence of a teenage boy, but so much happening beneath the surface."

^ Back To Top