2014 Seminars

After the seminar has passed you can click on the seminar title to read an abstract, listen to audio and view images and video of the seminar presentations.

All seminars are in room 3.G.55 on the Bankstown Campus unless otherwise indicated.

Friday 7 March 11.00am - 12.30pm

Chris Fleming (WSRC)

"Cabal of Babylonian Aliens Behind JFK Assassination!" Writing Conspiracy, Explaining the World
Friday 14 March 11.00am - 12.30pm Stephen Knight (UMelb) Criminographical Criticism: From the Corpus of Crime Fiction to the Body of the Text
Friday 28 March 11am- 12.30pm Victor Li  (University of Toronto) Postgraduate seminar presentations
Frames of Globalization, or Making the World Disappear
Friday 4 April 11am- 12.30pm Sabrina Achilles (WSRC)

Bergson's notion of intuition as method and Deleuze and Guattari's concept, schizoanalysis, in relation to literature and ethics

Friday 11 April 11.00am - 12.30pm Ivor Indyk (WSRC) Gerald Murnane & the Provincial Imagination
Friday 2 May 11.00am - 12.30pm Joseph Hughes (UMelb) History of the Novel
Friday 9 May 11.00am - 12.30pm

 Ali Cobby Eckermann (visitor)

'My Basket is Heavy with History'

Friday 23 May 11.00am - 12.30pm

Jacques Roubaud (visitor) What is Oulipo?
Friday 30 May
11am- 12.30pm
Postgraduate seminar presentations
Tuesday 6 June
11.00am - 12.30pm

Matt McGuire (WSRC)

The Northern Irish Troubles and Modern Memory: Remembering and Forgetting in Glenn Patterson's That Which Was (2005)
Friday 20 June 11.00am - 12.30pm Chris Conti (WSRC) "In the dim void": metaphysical horror in Samuel Beckett
Wed 9 July
9.30am - 12.30pm
Lyn Hejinian (visitor) Poetry symposium
Wed 23 – Fri 25 July Conference, UWS Parramatta Cormac McCarthy: Borders and Landscapes International Conference
Friday 15 August
11am- 12.30pm   
Postgraduate seminar presentations
Friday 22 August
11am- 12.30pm       
Milena Ilisevic (visitor) Serbian Contemporary Literature: the Bible and negative utopias of Borislav Pekic in the light of theory of intertextuality
Friday 5 September
11am- 12.30pm       
Prof. Hazel Smith (WSRC) Musico-literary miscegenations: the relationship of words and music in new media writing
Friday 12 September
11am- 12.30pm 
Kate Fagan (WSRC)   Thinking with Things: Object Habitats and Relational Aesthetics in the Poetry of Pam Brown and Astrid Lorange
Friday 19 September
11.00am -12.30pm
Graham Holderness Graham Holderness on 'The Arab Shakespeare Trilogy'
Friday 26 September
11am- 12:30pm   
Postgraduate seminar presentations
Wed 1 & Thurs 2 October 2 day symposium Literature, Truth and Transitional Justice
Friday 10 October
11am- 12:30pm       
Saskia Beudel (visitor) 'Gallant desert flora': Olive Pink's Australian Arid Regions Flora Reserve
Friday 31 October
11am- 12:30pm       
Tom Lee (UWS) Modern maladaptations: the question of death
Friday 7 November
11am- 12.30pm       
Alexander Howard (visitor) Charles Henri Ford and the Camping of Modernism
Friday 21 November

James Gourley et al. (all day symposium)

Modernist Time(s) symposium
Friday 28 November
11am- 12.30pm   
Postgraduate seminar presentations
^ Back To Top