Key people in the School of Social Sciences and Psychology

Dean's Unit

Brian Stout

Professor Brian Stout
Dean, School of Social Sciences and Psychology
Provost, Liverpool City campus

Psychology Interim Dean, Professor Tanya Meade

Professor Tanya Meade
Interim Dean, Planning School of Psychology
Head of Discipline (Psychology)

Dr Tim Griffin
Deputy Dean (Academic)

Professor Adam Possamai
Deputy Dean (Research and International)

Nichole Georgeou

Assoc. Prof. Nichole Georgeou
Associate Dean International
(South Asia and the Pacific)

Dr Julie Wen

Associate Dean International
(China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan)
Ana Rodas

Dr Ana Rodas
Director of Learning and Teaching

Dr Peter Bansel
Director of Research and Higher Degree Research

Melissa Maucort

Melissa Maucort
School Manager

Directors of Academic Programs

Emma Waterton Portrait
Assoc Prof Emma Waterton
Geography, Tourism & Urban Studies

Professor Mary Hawkins
Sociology &

Assoc Prof Zulfan Tadjoeddin
Humanitarian & Development Studies

Dr Neil Hall
Social Work, Community Welfare

Selda Dagistahli Portrait
Dr Selda Dagistanli
Criminology & Policing

Dr Jeff Foster
Psychology Behavioral Science

Dr Phoebe Bailey
Dr Phoebe Bailey
Psychology Human Behaviour

Sheridan Linnell
Dr Janet Conti
Clinical Psychology & Therapy Studies

Director of Psychology Clinic

Karen Moses

Honours Coordinator

Psychology Honours Coordinator
Dr Nida Denson
PhD (UCLA), MA (CSULB), BA (Wash U)

Academic Course Advisors


Bachelor of Anthropology
Bankstown: Dr Irena Veljanova Penrith: Dr Helena Onnudottir

Bachelor of Community and Social Development
Dr Sonia Tascon

Bachelor of Community Welfare
Liverpool: Dr Justine O'Sullivan Parramatta: Rosemary Qummouh

Bachelor of Criminology, Bachelor of Criminal and Community Justice
Liverpool: Dr Ken Wooden Penrith: Dr Michael Kennedy and Dr Erin Kruger

Bachelor Cyber Security and Behaviour
Dr Abubakar Bello

Bachelor Humanitarian and Development Studies
Dr Garry Stevens

Bachelor Planning
Dr Cameron McAuliffe

Bachelor of Policing, Bachelor of Policing (Leadership Program)
Liverpool: Dr Ken Wooden Penrith: Dr Michael Kennedy and Dr Erin Kruger

Bachelor of Psychology, Graduate Diploma in Psychological Studies (1.5 year accredited sequence)
Bankstown: Dr Karen Mattock Penrith: Dr David Arness Parramatta: Dr David Arness Honours: Dr Tania Perich

Graduate Diploma in Psychology (4th year program only)
Dr Tania Perich

Bachelor of Social Science, Bachelor of Social Science (Advanced)
Liverpool: Dr Irena Veljanova Penrith: Dr Helena Onnudottir Parramatta: Dr Julie Wen

Bachelor of Social Science (Psychology)
Liverpool/Bankstown: Dr Karen Mattock Penrith: Dr David Arness Parramatta: Dr David Arness

Bachelor of Social Work (Note: Master of Social Work (Q) listed under postgraduate below)
Liverpool: Dr Justine O'Sullivan, Parramatta: Rosemary Qummouh 

Bachelor of Science, Criminology and Psychological Studies (Online)
Dr Kell Tremayne

Bachelor of Tourism Management
Dr Julie Wen


Master of Art Therapy
Dr Joy Paton and Dr Catherine Camden-Pratt

Graduate Diploma in Counselling
Penny Gardener

Master of Psychotherapy and Counselling
Penny Gardener

Master of Clinical Psychology, Master of Professional Psychology, PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology (Combined)
Dr James Collison

Master of Humanitarian and Development Studies
Dr Garry Stevens

Master of International Criminology
Professor Stephen Tomsen

Master of Research
Dr Rae Dufty-Jones

Master of Social Science, Diploma of Social Science
Dr Irena Veljanova

Master of Social Work (Q)
Dr Hong-Jae Park

Postgraduate Bridging Program (Social Work)
Dr Hong-Jae Park

Master of Urban Management and Planning, Planning pathway
Dr Cameron McAuliffe

Academic Student Transition & Retention Success (STaRS) Coordinator

Dr Garth Lean

Equity and Diversity Coordinator (incorporating School Disability Coordinator)

Dr Belinda Ratcliffe