Our People in the School of Social Sciences

Brian Stout 

Professor Brian Stout (opens in a new window)
Dean, School of Social Sciences 

Professor Brian Stout is Dean, School of Social Sciences, Provost, Liverpool Campus and Professor of Social Work.

Professor Stout has a long history of research, teaching and practice in Australia, Europe and South Africa. His most recent book is ‘Community Justice in Australia’ and has carried out research in Australia into interventions with children and young people facilitated by Juvenile Justice, FACS and other agencies. He has a long record of teaching and research in criminal justice, youth justice, probation and social work.  Professor Stout has been involved in developing and delivering training and education for criminal justice professionals in the UK and South Africa and participated in a number of European criminal justice social work projects.  His research has included child justice diversion in South Africa and sex offender public disclosure schemes in the UK.

Professor Stout is an experienced academic leader, recently holding the roles of Deputy Dean and Director Academic Programs for Social Work. He is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, UK.

Dean's Unit

Adam Possamai  Professor Adam Possamai (opens in a new window)
Deputy Dean 
Gabrielle Drake  Associate Professor Gabrielle Drake (opens in a new window)
Associate Dean (Engagement)
Dr Ana Rodas  Dr Ana Rodas (opens in a new window)
Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching) 
Kate Huppatz  Professor Kate Huppatz (opens in a new window)
Associate Dean (Research) 
Nida Denson  Associate Professor Nida Denson (opens in a new window)  
Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research)
Prof Joseph Cheer 

Professor Joseph Cheer (opens in a new window)
Associate Dean (International)  

Dr Corrinne Sullivan  Professor Corrinne Sullivan (opens in a new window)
Associate Dean (Indigenous Education)
Dr Rimple Mehta  Dr Rimple Mehta (opens in a new window)
Specialist Role (International Regional Lead - South Asia)
Dr Litea Meo-Sewebu 

Dr Litea Meo-Sewebu (opens in a new window)
Specialist Role (International Regional Lead - South Pacific)

Dr Garth Lean 

Dr Garth Lean (opens in a new window)
Specialist Role (International Country Lead - Vietnam)

JW  Dr Julie Wen (opens in a new window)
Specialist Role (International - China)
Sky Hugman 

Dr Sky Hugman (opens in a new window) 
Specialist Role (STARS Coordinator) 

Dr Teddy Nagaddya  Dr Teddy Nagaddya (opens in a new window)
Specialist Role (International Student Liaison Advisor)
Dr Kathleen Openshaw  Dr Kathleen Openshaw (opens in a new window)
Specialist Role (Equity and Diversity)
Lauren Marsh  Lauren Marsh
School Manager

Directors of Academic Programs

Emma Power Associate Professor Emma Power (opens in a new window)
Geography, Tourism, Planning and Humanitarian and Development Studies
Hong-Jae Park Dr Hong-Jae Park (opens in a new window)  
Social Work and Community Welfare
Tamara Watson Associate Professor Tamara Watson  (opens in a new window)
Criminology and Policing 
Joy Paton  Dr Joy Paton (opens in a new window) 
Art Therapy and Counselling 
Dr Amie Matthews Dr Amie Matthews (opens in a new window)
Anthropology and Sociology