People in the School of Engineering

Professor Mike Kagioglou, Dean

Professor Mike Kagioglou became the Dean of Engineering at Western Sydney University on the 9th of March 2020. The School consists of Civil, Electrical and Electronic, Mechatronics and Mechanical Engineering. Previous to that he was the Dean of Art, Design and Architecture at the University of Huddersfield in the UK from the 4th of November 2013. The School consisted of three innovative departments: Art and Communications; Fashion and Textiles; and Architecture and 3D design. He was previously at the University of Salford in the UK where he was the Head of the School of Built Environment since 2009, the No.1 Research Power School in the 2008 RAE for Architecture and the Built Environment.

Mike's career spans Engineering, Manufacturing, Creativity, Design, Architecture and the Built Environment, engaged in inter and multi-disciplinary research at a global level. Mike's commitment to inter and multidisciplinary endeavours was evident from the beginning of his academic career. He chose to undertake an Integrated Engineering Systems degree at Manchester Metropolitan University where he explored the integration of a number of disciplines around the development of New products. He then specialised in Advanced Manufacturing Systems at the Master's level where he coined his work on Design and New Product Development (NPD) working with SMEs and undertaking a placement within a precision Engineering company to get under the skin on how new products are developed, from conception to final market introduction and use. His PhD considered Process in general and NPD more specifically in a number of sectors and that was the point that he developed a strong interest in the Built Environment and worked as a research fellow in a major EPSRC funded project. Receiving his PhD in 2009 he joined the University of Salford as the Manager of the £8M EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council) Salford Centre for Research and Innovation (SCRI) in the built and human environment. He became the Director of SCRI in 2008.

Mike's more recent work over the last 7-8 years focused on process issues in Healthcare Infrastructure and he was an Academic Director for the £11M EPSRC funded interdisciplinary IMRC in Health and Care Infrastructures Research and Innovation Centre (HaCIRIC). This collaborative centre broke new ground in emphasising the importance of the built environment in delivering healthcare outcomes. Mike's current research is around Healthcare infrastructure and better decision making in complex settings, following an outcomes/benefits based philosophy. He is also working on platform design in a number of sectors and Lean thinking. He has published more than 200 academic referred papers, many industrial reports and three books. Mike has taken part in international evaluations and consultancy activity.


Professor Yang Xiang, Deputy Dean

Professor Yang joined Western Sydney University in 1996 after undertaking his PhD study and holding a postdoctoral position at The University of Queensland. His research expertise is in structural engineering, computational mechanics, composite structures, nanomechanics Professor Yang Xiangand engineering materials. He has published 1 book and over 160 refereed papers in journals and held three ARC DP grants and three ARC LIEF grants. His journal publications have attracted over 8200 citations with an H-Index of 52 in Google Scholar.

Professor Yang is currently the Deputy Dean in School of Engineering and has held many administrative and governance positions including Acting Dean of School, Senior Associate Head of School, Acting Chair of Western Sydney University Research Studies Committee, Chair of School Academic Committee, Chair of School Research Committee, member of Western Sydney University Academic Senate etc. He served on the Stability Committee of ASCE Engineering Mechanics Institute as Chair of the Committee from 2014 to 2016. He is an Associate Editor for International Journal of Dynamics and Control and an editorial board member for International Journal of Structural Stability and Dynamics.


Further contact details for School of Engineering staff can be found below and in the University Staff Directory.


Dean's Unit

Dean
Professor Mike Kagioglou


m.kagioglou@westernsydney.edu.au

Deputy Dean
Professor Yang Xiang

(02) 4736 0395
y.xiang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean - Research and HDR
Professor Richard Yang

(02) 4736 0112
r.yang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean - International
Professor Gu Fang

(02) 9685 4606
g.fang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean - Engagement
Associate Professor Olivia Mirza

(02) 4736 0402
o.mirza@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean - Learning and Teaching
Associate Professor Surendra Shrestha

(02) 4736 0007
s.shrestha@westernsydney.edu.au

School Manager
Ms Jodie Clark

(02) 4736 0929
j.clark@westernsydney.edu.au

Executive Assistant to the Dean
Ms Patrica Saladine

(02) 4736 0620
t.saladine@westernsydney.edu.au

Professional Staff

School Manager
Ms Jodie Clark

(02) 4736 0929
j.clark@westernsydney.edu.au

Executive Assistant to the Dean
Ms Patricia Saladine

(02) 4736 0620
t.saladine@westernsydney.edu.au

Research Coordinator
Mr David Batten

(02) 4936 0062
d.batten@westernsydney.edu.au

Business Administrative Officer
Ms Jessica Kemmett

(02) 4736 0129
j.kemmett@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Administration Officer
Mr Ashley Berthold

(02) 4736 0241
a.berthold@westernsydney.edu.au

Business Administrative Assistant
Mr Darshik Kumar

(02) 4736 0288
d.kumar@westernsydney.edu.au

Directors of Academic Programs

DAP Grand Challenges Scholars
Associate Professor Sarah Zhang

(02) 4736 0916
sarah.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP PG Engineering
Dr Qinghua Zeng

(02) 9685 4607
q.zeng@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP UG Civil and Construction
Associate Professor Fidelis Mashiri

(02) 4736 0355
f.mashiri@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP UG Electrical
Dr Jamal Rizk

(02) 4736 0728
j.rizk@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP UG Mechanical and Mechatronic
Associate Professor Ming Zhao

(02) 4736 0085
m.zhao@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP UNSW-WSU Joint Program
Dr Leigh Sheppard

(02) 9685 4618
l.sheppard@westernsydney.edu.au

Academic Course Advisors

ACA UG Civil and Construction - Parramatta
Dr Won Hee Kang

(02) 4736 0149
w.kang@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Civil and Construction - Penrith and SCC
Dr Pan Hu

(02) 4736 0949
p.hu@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Electrical - Parramatta
Dr Qi Cheng

(02) 9685 4613
q.cheng@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Electrical - Penrith and SCC
A/Prof Gaetano Gargiulo

(02) 4736 0920
g.gargiulo@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Engineering Honours
Dr Kejun Dong

(02) 4736 0562
k.dong@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Engineering Industry Experience
Dr Ee Loon Tan

(02) 4736 0991
e.tan@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Mechanical and Mechatronic - Parramatta
Dr Hui Xie

(02) 4736 0942
hui.xie@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG Mechanical and Mechatronic - Penrith and SCC
Dr Leo Zhang

(02) 4736 0945
leo.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA UG First Year Programs
Dr Helen Wu

(02) 4736 0254
helen.wu@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA PG Civil and Environmental
A/Prof Haiping Zhu

(02) 9685 4609
h.zhu@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA PG Electrical, Telecommunications and Biomedical
Dr Jeffrey Zou

(02) 9685 4612
j.zou@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA PG Mechanical and Mechatronic
A/Prof Baolin Wang

(02) 4736 0567
b.wang@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA PG Engineering Industry Experience
Dr Mariam Darestani

(02) 4736 0946
m.darestani@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA M Engineering Projects
Dr Upul Gunawardana

(02) 9685 4608
u.gunawardana@westernsydney.edu.au

Disciplines

Civil and Environmental

Discipline Leader
Associate Professor Sarah Zhang

(02) 4736 0916
sarah.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Kejun Dong

(02) 4736 0562
k.dong@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Dharma Hagare

(02) 4736 0134
d.hagare@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Pan Hu

(02) 4736 0949
p.hu@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Won Hee Kang

(02) 4736 0949
w.kang@westernsydney.edu.au


Mr George Kastl

 


Professor Chin Leo

(02) 9685 4610
c.leo@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Samanthika Liyanapathirana

(02) 4736 0653
s.liyanapathirana@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Fidelis Mashiri

(02) 4736 0355
f.mashiri@westernsydney.edu.au


Associtate Professor Olivia Mirza

(02) 4736 0402
o.mirza@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Zhu Pan

 


Professor Ataur Rahman

(02) 4736 0145
a.rahman@westernsydney.edu.au


Professor Hamid Ronagh

 


Professor Bijan Samali

(02) 4736 0263
b.samali@westernsydney.edu.au


Professor Sathaa Sathasivan

(02) 4736 0941
s.sathasivan@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Surendra shrestha

(02) 4736 0007
s.shrestha@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Ee Loon Tan

(02) 4736 0991
e.tan@westernsydney.edu.au


Professor Zhong Tao

(02) 4736 0064
z.tao@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Sameera Wijesiri Pathirana

(02) 4736 0979
i.pathirana@westernsydney.edu.au


Professor Yang Xiang

(02) 4736 0395
y.xiang@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Qinghua Zeng

(02) 9685 4607
q.zeng@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Chunwei Zhang

(02) 4736 0182
chunwei.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Haiping Zhu

(02) 9685 4609
h.zhu@westernsydney.edu.au

Electrical and Electronic

Discipline Leader
Associate Professor Gaetano Gargiulo

(02) 4736 0920
g.gargiulo@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Ragbir Bhathal

(02) 4736 0834
r.bhathal@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Qi Cheng

(02) 9685 4613
q.cheng@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Gregory Cohen

(02) 4736 0859
g.cohen@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Upul Gunawardana

(02) 9685 4608
u.gunawardana@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Ali Hellany

(02) 4736 0126
a.hellany@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Khoa Le

(02) 4736 0382
k.le@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Ranjith Liyanapathirana

(02) 4736 0082
r.liyanapathirana@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Mahmood Nagrial

(02) 4736 0827
m.nagrial@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Jamal Rizk

(02) 4736 0728
j.rizk@westernsydney.edu.au


Professor Andre van Schaik

(02) 4736 0668
a.vanschaik@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Jeffrey Zou

(02) 9685 4612
j.zou@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Gough Lui

(02) 4736 0397
g.lui@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Ying Xu

ying.xu@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Runchun (Mark) Wang

(02) 4736 0473
mark.wang@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Andrew Nicholson

 


Associate Professor Paul Breen

(02) 4736 0507
p.breen@westernsydney.edu.au

Mechanical, Mechatronic and Robotics

Discipline Leader
Professor Richard Yang

0437 541 177
r.yang@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Mariam Darestani

(02) 4736 0946
m.darestani@westernsydney.edu.au


Professor Gu Fang

0425 205 423
g.fang@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Leigh Sheppard

(02) 9685 4618
l.sheppard@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Jonathan Vincent

(02) 4736 0008
w.kang@westernsydney.edu.au


Associate Professor Baolin Wang

(02) 4736 0567
b.wang@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Julian Wang

 


Dr Helen Wu

(02) 4736 0254
helen.wu@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Hui Xie

(02) 4736 0942
hui.xie@westernsydney.edu.au


Dr Leo Zhang

(02) 4736 0945
leo.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor Ming Zhao

(02) 4736 0085
m.zhao@westernsydney.edu.au