Our People


Professor Mike Kagioglou, Dean

Professor Mike Kagioglou is Acting Dean of Built Environment, Dean of Engineering and Discipline Lead for Industrial Design.

Professor Mike Kagioglou became the Dean of Engineering at Western Sydney University on the 9th of March 2020. The School consists of Civil, Electrical and Electronic, Mechatronics and Mechanical Engineering. Previous to that he was the Dean of Art, Design and Architecture at the University of Huddersfield in the UK from the 4th of November 2013. The School consisted of three innovative departments: Art and Communications; Fashion and Textiles; and Architecture and 3D design. He was previously at the University of Salford in the UK where he was the Head of the School of Built Environment since 2009, the No.1 Research Power School in the 2008 RAE for Architecture and the Built Environment.

profile photo of Mike Kagioglou

Mike's career spans Engineering, Manufacturing, Creativity, Design, Architecture and the Built Environment, engaged in inter and multi-disciplinary research at a global level. Mike's commitment to inter and multidisciplinary endeavours was evident from the beginning of his academic career. He chose to undertake an Integrated Engineering Systems degree at Manchester Metropolitan University where he explored the integration of a number of disciplines around the development of New products. He then specialised in Advanced Manufacturing Systems at the Master's level where he coined his work on Design and New Product Development (NPD) working with SMEs and undertaking a placement within a precision Engineering company to get under the skin on how new products are developed, from conception to final market introduction and use. His PhD considered Process in general and NPD more specifically in a number of sectors and that was the point that he developed a strong interest in the Built Environment and worked as a research fellow in a major EPSRC funded project. Receiving his PhD in 2009 he joined the University of Salford as the Manager of the £8M EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council) Salford Centre for Research and Innovation (SCRI) in the built and human environment. He became the Director of SCRI in 2008.

Mike's more recent work over the last 7-8 years focused on process issues in Healthcare Infrastructure and he was an Academic Director for the £11M EPSRC funded interdisciplinary IMRC in Health and Care Infrastructures Research and Innovation Centre (HaCIRIC). This collaborative centre broke new ground in emphasising the importance of the built environment in delivering healthcare outcomes. Mike's current research is around Healthcare infrastructure and better decision making in complex settings, following an outcomes/benefits based philosophy. He is also working on platform design in a number of sectors and Lean thinking. He has published more than 200 academic referred papers, many industrial reports and three books. Mike has taken part in international evaluations and consultancy activity.

Key People in our School

Dean's Unit

Dean
Professor Mike Kagioglou

(02) 4736 0575
BE-Dean@westernsydney.edu.au

Deputy Dean
Professor Yang Xiang

(02) 4736 0395
y.xiang@westernsydney.edu.au

Deputy Dean
Associate Professor Swapan Saha

(02) 9685 4601
s.saha@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Deans

Associate Dean, Engagement
Associate Professor Olivia Mirza

(02) 4736 0402
o.mirza@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean, Research
Professor Vivian Tam

(02) 4736 0105
v.tam@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research
Professor Richard Yang

(02) 4736 0112
r.yang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean, International
Professor Gu Fang

(02) 9685 4606
g.fang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean, International
Dr Payam Rahnamayiezekavat

(02) 9685 4625
p.zekavat@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching
Associate Professor Surendra Shrestha

(02) 4736 0007
s.shrestha@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching
Dr Brendan Kirkland

(02) 4736 0585
b.kirkland@westernsydney.edu.au

Research Centre Directors

Director, Centre for Infrastructure Engineering
Professor Bijan Samali

(02) 4736 0263
b.samali@westernsydney.edu.au

Director, Centre for Smart Modern Construction
Professor Srinath Perera

(02) 4736 0436
srinath.perera@westernsydney.edu.au 

Discipline Leaders

Discipline Leader – Civil and Environmental Engineering
Professor Sarah Zhang

(02) 4736 0916
sarah.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

Discipline Leader – Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Associate Professor Gaetano Gargiulo

(02) 4736 0920
g.gargiulo@westernsydney.edu.au

Discipline Leader – Mechanical, Robotic & Mechatronic Engineering
Professor Richard Yang

(02) 4736 0112
r.yang@westernsydney.edu.au

Discipline Leader – Industrial Design
Professor Mike Kagioglou

m.kagioglou@westernsydney.edu.au

Discipline Leader – Construction Management
Professor Vivian Tam

(02) 4736 0105
v.tam@westernsydney.edu.au

Discipline Leader ‐ Architecture
Professor Peter Poulet


p.poulet@westernsydney.edu.au

Directors of Academic Programs (DAP)

DAP - UG Civil and Construction
Associate Professor Fidelis Mashiri

(02) 4736 0355
f.mashiri@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - UG Mechanical, Robotic & Mechatronic
Associate Professor Ming Zhao

(02) 4736 0085
m.zhao@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - UG Electrical
Dr Jamal Rizk

(02) 4736 0728
j.rizk@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - PG Engineering
Dr Qinghua Zeng

(02) 9685 4607
q.zeng@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - Grand Challenges Scholars Program
Professor Sarah Zhang

(02) 4736 0916
sarah.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - UNSW‐WSU Joint Program
Dr Leigh Sheppard

(02) 9685 4618
l.sheppard@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - Architecture
Dr Ursa Komac

(02) 9685 4766
u.komac@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - UG Industrial Design
Dr Sasha Alexander

(02) 9685 9747
s.alexander@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - PG Construction Management
Dr Payam Rahnamayiezekavat

(02) 9685 4625
p.zekavat@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - UG Building Design Management
Associate Professor Mary Hardie

(02) 4736 0921
m.hardie@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - Project Management
Associate Professor Xiaohua (Sean) Jin
(02) 4736 0890
xiaohua.jin@westernsydney.edu.au

DAP - UG Construction Management
Associate Professor Sepani Senaratne

(02) 9685 4624
s.senaratne@westernsydney.edu.au

Academic Course Advisors (ACA)

ACA - UG Civil and Construction Engineering, Penrith and SCC
Dr Pan Hu

(02) 4736 0949
p.hu@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - UG Civil and Construction Engineering, Parramatta
Dr Won Hee Kang

(02) 4736 0149
w.kang@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - Mechanical, Robotic & Mechatronic Engineering
Dr Leo Zhang

(02) 9685 4766
leo.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - Engineering Industry Experience
Dr Ee Loon Tan

(02) 9685 9747
e.tan@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - UG First Year Engineering Programs
Dr Helen Wu

(02) 4736 0890
helen.wu@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - UG Electrical Engineering
Dr Qi Cheng

(02) 9685 4625
q.cheng@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - PG Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering
Associate Professor Baolin Wang

(02) 4736 0567
b.wang@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - UG Engineering Honours
Dr Kejun Dong

(02) 4736 0562
k.dong@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - PG Civil & Environmental Engineering
Associate Professor Haiping Zhu

(02) 9685 4609
h.zhu@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - PG Electrical, Telecommunications & Biomedical
Dr Jeffrey Zou

(02) 9685 4612
j.zou@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - MEng Projects
Dr Upul Gunawardana

(02) 9685 4608
u.gunawardana@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - Construction Management UG, Parramatta
Dr Robert Osei-Kyei

(02) 9685 4621
r.osei-kyei@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - Construction Management UG, Kingswood
Dr Ali AI-Ashwal

(02) 4736 0933
a.al-ashwal@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - Industrial Design
Ms Karen Yevenes

(02) 9685 9746
k.yevenes@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - PG Construction Management
Dr Grahame Douglas

(02) 9685 4605
g.douglas@westernsydney.edu.au

ACA - Architecture
Dr Reza Razavi


R.Razavi@westernsydney.edu.au

Professorial Staff

Professor
Professor Mike Kagioglou

(02) 4736 0575
BE-Dean@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Yang Xiang

(02) 4736 0395
y.xiang@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Richard (Chunhui) Yang

(02) 4736 0112
r.yang@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Vivian Tam

(02) 4736 0105
v.tam@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Hamid Ronagh


h.ronagh@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Gu Fang

(02) 9685 4606
g.fang@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Srinath Perera

(02) 4736 0436
srinath.perera@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Chin Jian Leo

(02) 9685 4610
c.leo@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Ataur Rahman

(02) 4736 0145
a.rahman@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor (Sathaa) Arumugam Sathasivan

(02) 4736 0941
s.sathasivan@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Bijan Samali

(02) 4736 0263
b.samali@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Zhong Tao

(02) 4736 0064
z.tao@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Peter Poulet

(02) 4736 0395
p.poulet@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor
Professor Sarah Zhang

(02) 4736 0916
sarah.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Yingbin Feng

(02) 4736 0468
y.feng@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Khoa Le

(02) 4736 0382
k.le@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Sepani Senaratne

(02) 9685 4624
s.senaratne@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Samanthika Liyanapathirana

(02) 4736 0653
s.liyanapathirana@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Mahmood Nagrial

(02) 4736 0827
m.nagrial@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Kejun Dong

(02) 4736 0562
k.dong@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Mary Hardie

(02) 4736 0921
m.hardie@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Fidelis Mashiri

(02) 4736 0355
f.mashiri@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Ming Zhao

(02) 4736 0085
m.zhao@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Gaetano Gargiulo

(02) 4736 0920
g.gargiulo@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Surendra Shrestha

(02) 4736 0007
s.shrestha@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Swapan Saha

(02) 9685 4601
s.saha@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Olivia Mirza

(02) 4736 0402
o.mirza@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Haiping Zhu

(02) 9685 4609
h.zhu@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Professor
Associate Professor Baolin Wang

(02) 4736 0576
b.wang@westernsydney.edu.au

Adjunct Professor
Phillip Arnold


p.arnold@westernsydney.edu.au

Adjunct Professor
David Chandler


d.chandler@westernsydney.edu.au

Adjunct Professor
Gabrielle Wallace


gabrielle.wallace@westernsydney.edu.au

Adjunct Professor
John Gal

(02) 4736 0943
j.gal@westernsydney.edu.au

Visiting Professor
Associate Professor Alireza Keshavarzy

(02) 4736 0563
a.keshavarzy@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturers

Senior Lecturer
Dr Dharma Hagare

(02) 4736 0134
d.hagare@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Ali Hellany

(02) 4736 0126
a.hellany@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr John Zhang

(02) 9685 4604
j.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer 
Dr Ranjith Liyanapathirana

(02) 4736 0082
r.liyanapathirana@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Mr John Smolders

(02) 9685 4603
j.smolders@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Kejun Dong

(02) 4736 0562
k.dong@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Pejman Sharafi

(02) 4736 0342
p.sharafi@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Chunwei Zhang

(02) 4736 0182
chunwei.zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Won Hee Kang

(02) 4736 0149
w.kang@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Maria Rashidi

(02) 4736 0183
m.rashidi@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Ali AI-Ashwal

(02) 4736 0933
a.al-ashwal@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Dr Robert Osei-Kyei

(02) 9685 4621
r.osei-kyei@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturers

Lecturer
Dr. Ragbir Bhathal

(02) 4736 0834
r.bhathal@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Jonathan Vincent

(02) 4736 0008
j.vincent@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Krisanthi Seneviratne

(02) 4736 0114
K.Seneviratne@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Mr James Berry

(02) 9685 9745
j.berry@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Matt Stevens

(02) 9685 4617
Matt.Stevens@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Don Mason

(02) 4736 0584
donald.mason@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Sameera Pathirana

(02) 4736 0979
I.Pathirana@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Wenchi Shou

(02) 9685 4701
W.Shou@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Whitney Bevan

(02) 9685 4704
W.Bevan@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
James Berry

(02) 9685 9745
J.Berry@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Jean Payette

(02) 9685 9760
J.Payette@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Mark Crowley

(02) 4736 0924
M.Crowley@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Mauricio Novoa

(02) 9685 9757
M.Novoa@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Philip Love

(02) 9685 4602
P.Love@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Alan Toddhunter

(02) 4736 0315
A.Todhunter@westernsydney.edu.au

Lecturer
Dr Peng Zhang

(02) 9685 4615
P.Zhang@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Lecturers

Associate Lecturer
Chris Nash

(02) 4736 0960
C.Nash@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Lecturer
Dr Md Abdul Alim

(02) 4736 0763
m.alim@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Lecturer
Dr Md Kamrul Hassan

(02) 4736 0114
k.hassan@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Lecturer
Anthony Butera


A.Butera@westernsydney.edu.au

Associate Lecturer
Dr Laura de Almeida


L.Almeida@westernsydney.edu.au

Professional Staff

School Manager
Jodie Clark

(02) 4736 0929
j.clark@westernsydney.edu.au

Executive Assistant
Trish Saladine

(02) 4736 0620
t.saladine@westernsydney.edu.au

Executive Project Officer
Kim Vincent

(02) 9685 9650
k.vincent@westernsydney.edu.au

Business Coordinator
Ridwan Haq

(02) 4736 0923
ridwan.haq@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior Administrative Officer
Tracey Crofts

(02) 4736 0288
t.crofts@westernsydney.edu.au

Student Placement and Industry Liaison Officer
Rita Mifsud

(02) 4736 0144
r.mifsud@westernsydney.edu.au

Senior School Administrative Officer, Research Services
Cheryl Murray

(02) 9685 9234
c.murray@westernsydney.edu.au

Project Officer
Saamiul Bashar


s.bashar@westernsydney.edu.au

Governance and Compliance Officer
Tracey Hanson

(02) 4620 3514
t.hanson@westernsydney.edu.au

Governance and Compliance Officer
Camilla Stinson

(02) 4620 3514
t.hanson@westernsydney.edu.au

Engagement Assistant
Sara Baker

(02) 4736 0389
sara.baker@westernsydney.edu.au

Research and HDR Administration Officer
Felicity Koulouris

(02) 4736 0707
f.koulouris@westernsydney.edu.au

Project Manager
Robert Marshall

(02) 4736 0304
r.marshall@westernsydney.edu.au