2018 3MT Event

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition(opens in a new window) celebrates the exciting research being undertaken by research candidates across the Schools and Institutes at Western Sydney University. Developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), the competition cultivates academic, presentation, and research communication skills.

The rules of the competition are simple - present your thesis topic to a general audience in the space of three minutes using one static slide.

Our 2018 3MT Winner was Elisa Stefaniak from Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment for the talk "Save or Spend? Plants do it too".

The Runner-up and People's Choice prize was awarded to Josephine Canceri from the School of Medicine for the talk "Understanding the Influence of Sex Hormones on Mal de Debarquement Syndrome".

Proudly supported by UniBank

The 2018 3MT Competition at Western Sydney University was proudly supported by UniBank.

  • 3MT Winner $3,000
  • Runner-up $1,000
  • People's Choice $1,000

UniBank(opens in a new window) is a member owned mutual bank who offer a range of personal banking and services to people working and studying in tertiary and post-secondary education.

2018 3MT Winners

Congratulations to our 2018 3MT Winner:

  • Elisa Stafaniak
    Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment

The Runner-up and People's Choice was awarded to:

  • Josephine Canceri
    School of Medicine

School and Institute Round Winners

  • Sheela Sree Kumar
    School of Business
  • Rekha Nachiappan
    School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics
  • Chi Nguyen
    School of Education
  • Narelle Ontivero
    School of Humanities and Communication Arts
  • Simon Levett
    School of Law
  • Paula Sanchez
    School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Kash Bhullar
    School of Science and Health
  • Leisha Du Preez
    School of Social Sciences and Psychology
  • Pryor Placino
    Institute for Culture and Society
  • Elham Shabanivaraki
    MARCS Institute for Brain, Behaviour and Development
  • Zewdneh Sabe
    NICM Health Research Institute
  • Dorothy Ndwiga
    Translational Health Research Institute