George Masterman Scholarship


$7,500 per year for one (1) year


Continuing students who have completed a minimum of 160 credit points of Bachelor of Law (stand alone or double degree)


Bachelor of Law (stand alone or double degree)


Applicants must:

  • be Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia.
  • demonstrate financial or other hardship which will be demonstrated by the Universities Admission Centre (UAC).
  • Shortlisted (top three) applicants, as determined by the UAC Equity Ranking, will be required to make a written submission to demonstrate commitment, passion or strong interest in the law and/or a particular aspect of the law and/or their understand of 'public interest'.
  • Applicants will be selected based on their personal statement, academic potential and their ability to meet the criteria.

George Masterman 

I wish to provide the opportunity of advancement to a student of law who might not have the means to concentrate on his or her studies and as a result has insufficient time to plan the way he or she can make a difference to our society.

My inspiration has been my late husband. I am creating the George Masterman Scholarship in his memory and his honour. George was a highly intelligent and fiercely independent barrister (QC). He demonstrated a great breadth of his understanding of the law so that he was able to look at a problem in a holistic way and be creative in solutions. He co-authored Australian Trade Practices Law in 1967. The NSW Government appointed him as an inspector into the collapse of stockbrokers Patrick Partners in 1975. He acted pro bono in many cases which raised public interest questions, civil liberties or consumer rights. As the NSW Ombudsman from 1981-1988 he made that office a genuinely independent place of review of administrative action, including that of the police. He bravely fought for transparency of decisions by those in positions of power and fairness for those who were not. I hope this scholarship allows you to fulfill your dreams and gain success in your legal career.

Application and Selection Process

Selection of this scholarship is based primarily on financial need and academic performance, to the maximum number of scholarships available. Additional factors such as educational disadvantage, membership of a specific equity group and/or significantly adverse personal circumstances will be taken into consideration.

Applications for this scholarship are now closed