John E Hely Engineering Scholarship

Scholarship Type:  High Potential
Scholarship Group:  B


  • $7,500 per year for duration of degree*
    *full-time, or part-time equivalent

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:


  • Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident


  • new or continuing student


  • any Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) course


  • reside in the Macarthur region

Campbelltown City Council

Campbelltown City Council is a designated Regional City Centre in one of the most significant growth corridors in New South Wales. Campbelltown offers a unique combination of city opportunities in a natural setting to its 158,000 residents. It attracts a wide range of industry and development in the business, government, health, cultural, retail and recreational sectors to support the growing population of Macarthur and greater Sydney.

Working with Western Sydney University, Campbelltown City Council is committed to supporting the future development of the area by providing a scholarship for a young local resident wishing to undertake tertiary education. The John E Hely Engineering Scholarship is focused on supporting the next generation of engineers training at Western Sydney University.

Application and Selection Process

Applicants must provide a statement supporting their application indicating how they believe receiving the scholarship will assist them with their studies and future careers. This statement should give a sufficient explanation of the applicant's background and current circumstances to enable the University to judge their eligibility, need and merit.

Successful applicants will be selected based on their written application, academic potential, ability to meet the criteria, and, where appropriate, and performance in an interview before a selection panel.

Further information and how to apply can be found on our High Potential Scholarship page.

Continuing Eligibility Criteria

  • Recipients must remain enrolled at Western.
  • Recipients must maintain a minimum GPA of 4.