Western Sydney University announces the Women of the West nominees for 2016

Women of the West 

Melissa Radjenovic and Grace Fava, the Young Women of the West and Women of the West for 2015.

A record number of extraordinary women have been nominated for this year's Western Sydney University Women of the West and Young Women of the West Awards.

Western Sydney University first established the awards in 2005, to show its appreciation for the many, often unsung, women who are improving the lives of people in Greater Western Sydney.

There are thirty women nominated (opens in a new window) this year from across the education, business and not-for-profit sectors – the highest ever number of nominations received in the Awards' history. All nominees are highly motivated, go above and beyond in their work, and share a passion for making a difference.

With 23 finalists for the Women of the West category, and seven finalists for the Young Women of the West, which is for women aged 18 to 28 years. 

Winners from each category receive a grant of $5,000 to further develop their leadership and advocacy work, and the winners will be publicly announced at a special ceremony held in March as part of the University's International Women's Day celebrations.

Western Sydney University Vice-Chancellor, Professor Barney Glover, says the University is pleased to see the Women of the West Awards continue to go from strength to strength, highlighting the unique contributions women have made to the development of our region.

"Western Sydney should be very proud to have these inspirational women working in our communities. Western Sydney is certainly stronger as a result of the work they do," says Professor Glover.

"I congratulate all the nominees in this year's Women of the West Awards and the University community looks forward to celebrating their achievements at our presentation ceremony next month."

Keynote speaker at the event will be Lucy Turnbull AO, Chair of the new Greater Sydney Commission who was also the former Lord Mayor of Sydney. Lisa Wilkinson AM, Co-host of the Nine Network's Today Show and journalist will present the awards at the event.

The award ceremony will be held on Friday 18 March at the Western Sydney University Parramatta campus, beginning at 11.45am.


3 March 2016

Media Unit

By submitting a comment you acknowledge you agree with the Terms and Conditions.