Western Sydney University academics honoured with prestigious teaching awards


Western Sydney University has received three Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning, as part of the Australian Government's Awards for University Teaching in 2016. 

The prestigious citations are highly competitive, and recognise the diverse contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning across our universities, with a prize value of up to $10,000 each. 

The Western Sydney University recipients for this year are: 

  • Professor Craig Gonsalvez from the School of Social Sciences and Psychology. Professor Gonsalvez was recognised for enhancing placement outcomes and experiences for psychology students, through competency-based supervision, training and assessment.
  • Dr Vincent Ho, from the School of Medicine. Dr Ho was recognised for inspiring medical and health students by implementing clinically relevant, novel teaching approaches and curricular innovations that enhance the student learning experience.
  • The Western Sydney University Japanese Language Team, comprising Dr Xiangdong Liu and Dr Satomi Kawaguchi from the School of Humanities and Communication Arts. Dr Liu and Dr Kawaguchi were recognised jointly for developing and delivering an inspiring Japanese language program, that maximises students' engagement, learning and achievement, through relational teaching, collaborative learning and innovative multimedia resources.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Denise Kirkpatrick, congratulated all the recipients, praising their commitment and their passion for engaging students to learn. 

"These four teachers, in different ways, all place the student learning experience at the centre of their teaching practice, and have demonstrated a scholarly approach to their work," says Professor Kirkpatrick. 

"This national recognition of their performance is testament to their innovation and passion for student learning. On behalf of the University community, I congratulate them on their success."


13 September 2016

Media Unit