Women of the West nominees announced

The nominations for the 2013 Women of the West Awards once again show that Greater Western Sydney is enriched by community-minded women who give their all in the assistance of others.

The awards are hosted by the University of Western Sydney each year as a way of recognising the contributions of women to the development of the region.

Now in its ninth year, the 2013 Awards see 18 women nominated for leadership in their fields and for working tirelessly to make our communities a better place to live.

The full list of 2013 Women of the West nominees are:

  • Priscilla Brice-Weller: Nominated for her work in western Sydney with All Together Now, Australia’s only national not-for-profit organisation that has a sole focus of addressing racism.
  • Sister Marlene Chedid: Principal of Our Lady of Lebanon College in Harris Park, nominated for her assistance to women within the local Maronite community.
  • Dr Nargis Banu: Nominated for her work as an Environmental Scientist as well as for her commitment to assisting disadvantaged members of the local community.
  • Emma Dehnen: Nominated for her work as a volunteer and fundraiser for Food Within Ltd, a not-for-profit company which provides fresh food for disadvantaged people in Greater Western Sydney.
  • Deborah Tuckey: Manager of Family Day Care Service within Camden Council, nominated for her commitment to improving the standard of education and care in local child care services.
  • Sue Coleman: Group Manager, City Services, Parramatta City Council, nominated for leadership and commitment to improving services and infrastructure for Parramatta residents.
  • Linda Kemp: Nominated for her business accomplishments as CEO of Complete Recruitment Solutions in Penrith, as well as for her commitment to various local organisations and charities.
  • Alison McLaren: Nominated for her former work as President of WSROC Ltd and her tireless advocacy on issues as diverse as transport and infrastructure, population planning, affordable housing and equity of health outcomes in Greater Western Sydney.
  • Rayna Shelley: Nominated for demonstrating exemplary education practices as Head VET/Science/TAS Teacher at James Meehan High School in Macquarie Fields, as well as for her support of local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and Pacific Islander students.
  • Mandy Edwards: Nominated for her work as a placement consultant within the Indigenous Employment Program of Max Employment in Macquarie Fields, as well as for her commitment to helping local Indigenous people reach their potential.
  • Sheila Holcombe: Nominated for going above and beyond her role as CEO of the Nepean-Blue Mountains Medicare Local to improve the health and wellbeing of people in Greater Western Sydney.
  • Wendie Lambert: President of Blacktown Computer Pals, nominated for providing an important community service and creating a hub for isolated senior citizens and pensioners in the Blacktown region.
  • Lucy Reggio: Nominated for her work connecting disadvantaged families of diverse cultural backgrounds to important support services through her work as Community Development Officer with Mission Australia and, as founder of the Special Needs Ability Program Providers (SNAPP), developing sporting programs for children with disabilities.
  • Rachael Haynes: Senior Psychologist and Owner of White Rose Psychology in Penrith, nominated for her achievements in the field of psychology and commitment to furthering the education and training of psychologists in the region.
  • Yvonne Keane: President, Founder and CEO of Hear the Children Early Intervention Centre and the Reach for the Rainbow Foundation. Nominated for services to hearing impaired children and their families in Greater Western Sydney.
  • Ranell Hobson: Head Teacher, Sport and Fitness, at Western Sydney Institute of TAFE, Nepean College. Nominated for improving the health and fitness of people living in Greater Western Sydney as well as for success in her business, The Academy of Sport Speed and Agility (ASSA).

The 2012 'Young Women of the West' nominees are:

  • Melissa Wolfshoerndl: A Bachelor of Social Work student at the University of Western Sydney nominated for her volunteer work with Hawkesbury Community Outreach Services Inc. (HCOS), a youth and community services organisation, as well as for her involvement in a number of youth advisory councils and volunteer projects.
  • Mariah Okeroa: A University of Sydney student, nominated for her charitable work and advocacy for Maori and Pacific Islander young people in Greater Western Sydney, including her involvement in Te Huinga Waka Juniors Kapa Haka, a Maori cultural performance and language group.

The winners of the Women of the West and Young Women of the West awards will be announced at a special International Women's Day event to be held at the UWS Parramatta Campus at 10am on Friday 8th March 2013.

The guest speaker at the event will be acclaimed theatre director and writer, Ros Horin, who has been instrumental in giving asylum seekers and refugees a voice through award-winning Australian theatre productions.

For further information about the Women of the West Awards, visit: http://www.uws.edu.au/womenofthewest

By submitting a comment you acknowledge you agree with the Terms and Conditions.