Women of the West: Nominees Announced

The nominations for the 2012 Women of the West Awards once again show that Greater Western Sydney is enriched by community-minded women who give their all in the assistance of others.

The awards are hosted by the University of Western Sydney each year, as a way of recognising the contributions of women to the development of the region.

Now in its eighth year, the 2012 Awards see 13 women nominated for leadership in their fields and for working tirelessly to make our communities a better place to live.

The full list of 2012 Women of the West nominees are:

Ana Levar, Itinerant Support Teacher – Vision (ISTV), Ruse Public School: Nominated for her commitment to improving the educational outcomes of vision-impaired, blind and disabled students in south-western Sydney schools.

Awhina Waapu, founder of Te Kete Kahurangi: Nominated for her role in establishing the volunteer, community organisation that gives Maori people in western Sydney the opportunity to connect with each other and learn about their traditional language and culture.

Dr Chandrika Subramaniyan, Principal Solicitor, Success Lawyers & Barristers: Nominated for her commitment to helping women from refugee and migrant backgrounds settle in Australia.

Beth Godwin, Principal, Cabramatta High School: Nominated for creating a culture of community advocacy and volunteering at her school that is of benefit to students as well as the wider community.

Jo Sammut, formerly Manager of the Building Stronger Communities – Macquarie Fields initiative, Housing NSW: Nominated for her contributions to bringing a sense of community unity back to Macquarie Fields, following the social disturbances of 2005.

June Bullivant, founder and current Secretary/ Treasurer, Granville Historical Society: Nominated for her commitment to providing educational opportunities and preserving the history of Western Sydney.

Lea Hicks, General Manager, Hix Group Pty Ltd: Nominated for her commitment to employing and training young people from Greater Western Sydney, and for her contributions to local community groups and charities.

Philippa Percy, Manager, Camden Civic Centre: Nominated for playing an integral role in the civic, cultural, celebratory and community life of Camden.

Sue Weatherley, Group Manager – Outcomes and Development, Parramatta City Council: Nominated for her commitment to improving the social, economic and environmental sustainability of western Sydney.

Dr Cen Amores, Founding President, Alliance of Philippine Community Organisations Inc. (APCO): Nominated for the 2012 Women of the West Award for her support of the migrant populations in western Sydney, as well as for acting as a representative for the Filipino community in Auburn.

The 2012 'Young Women of the West' nominees are:

Christa Anthony, Principal, Studio Dance NSW: Nominated for providing the gift of dance, singing, drama and friendship to the families of Blacktown, including children from disadvantaged backgrounds and with special needs.

Samantha Ewart, PhD candidate, University of Western Sydney: Nominated for using her passion for music technology to improve the quality of life of people with illnesses and disabilities.

Amna Karra-Hassan, co-founder of the Auburn Tigers Women's AFL team: Nominated for her contributions to the Muslim communities of Greater Western Sydney.

The winners of the Women of the West and Young Women of the West awards will be announced at a special International Women's Day event to be held at the UWS Parramatta Campus at 3:30pm on Friday 2nd March, 2012


22 February 2012

Contact: Danielle Roddick, Senior Media Officer