Biomedical Engineering and Neuromorphic Systems (BENS)

Welcome to our home page. The Biomedical Engineering and Neuromorphic Systems (BENS) research program combines expertise in Electrical Engineering and Medicine to create new medical devices and engineering solutions and to study neural computation.André van Schaik

Biomedical Engineering

We are currently developing several electronic devices for medical purposes. Some of these devices measure intrinsic body properties such as blood flow and respiration. Other devices actively interact with the user with the aim of improving human functions such as balance and sensory perception.


Our neuroscience research concentrates on understanding computation in the brain and on applying this understanding in electronic systems. We also study artificial neural networks that are only loosely based on real brains as computational methods.

We know that a brain creates a coherent interpretation of the external world based on input from its senses, but that data from these senses are sometimes unreliable and confused. We are assuming the brain uses a form of Bayesian Inference, in which prior information is used to interpret the sensory input to determine what is out there.

Neuromorphic Engineering

Neuromorphic Systems is a sub-field of electrical engineering that applies knowledge of how signals are processed in the brain to build electronic signal processing systems that vastly outperform current digital signal processing systems. Our team at Western Sydney University is one of the largest neuromorphic research groups in the world.

One of the most satisfying aspects of doing research in the BENS program is the interdisciplinary nature of our research and staff. We are currently looking for several postgraduate students. Send us an email if you are interested.

Professor André van Schaik

Our team

Research Program Leader Professor André van Schaik
ResearchersProfessor John Morley
 Dr Farzaneh Ahmadi
 Dr Paul Breen
 Dr Yossi Buskila
 Dr Gregory Cohen
 Dr Gaetano Gargiulo
 Dr Antonio Lauto
 Dr Gough Lui
 Dr David Mahns
 Dr Travis Monk
 Dr Ganesh Naik
 Dr Andrew Nicholson
 Dr Runchun Mark Wang
Adjunct Researchers Professor Philip de Chazal
 Dr Ingvars Birznieks
 Dr Sarah McIntyre 
 Dr Tara Hamilton
Research Students Saeed Afshar
 Titus Jayarathna
 David Karpul
 Sally Longmore
 Hossein Moeinzadeh
 Alba Bellot Saez
 Ram Kuber Singh
 Elham Shabanivaraki
 James Wright
 Ying Xu