Crossroads in Cultural Studies 2016

14–17 December 2016

For the first time in its history, Crossroads in Cultural Studies is coming to the southern hemisphere. Hosted by the Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University, and the University of Sydney, the 11th International Conference Crossroads in Cultural Studies will be held in Sydney, Australia, from December 14th to 17th 2016, bringing scholars together in the beautiful summertime setting of Sydney University to engage with the past, present and future of cultural studies scholarship.

The Crossroads in Cultural Studies Conference has played an important role in the creation of a global discussion of Cultural Studies. It has become a major international conference where scholars from all five continents gather regularly to exchange research, views, and insights. Organised by the Association for Cultural Studies (ACS), the Crossroads conference is held every other year in different parts of the world. Previous conferences have taken place in Birmingham (United Kingdom), Urbana-Champaign (USA), Istanbul (Turkey), Kingston (Jamaica), Hong Kong (China), Paris (France), and Tampere (Finland). 

A day-long postgraduate/graduate research student conference will precede the main conference (on 13 December 2016).

Conference Details

Information on visiting Sydney and Australian visas is available on the Crossroads website (opens in a new window).


Crossroads 2016 has an exciting line up. Keynote Speakers are Ghassan Hage, Audra Simpson and Kamala Visweswaran. Other plenary and featured spotlight speakers are Paula Banerjee, Sarah Banet-Weiser, Alison Bashford, Amita Baviskar, Jean Burgess, John Erni, Martin Fredriksson, Steve Kinnane, Denisa Kera, Maria Lugones, Mark McLelland, Cecilia Mariz, Kado Muir, Laikwan Pang, Susanna Paasonen, Elizabeth Povinelli, Cristina Rocha, Evelyn Ruppert, Rachel Silvey, Gavin Smith, Maristella Svampa, Imre Szeman, Martina Tazzioli, Irene Watson, Brenda Weber, Nira Yuval-Davis.

For speaker profiles see the Crossroads website (opens in a new window).


The main conference will be held at the University of Sydney's Camperdown campus. Specific venues on campus will be announced closer to the event. All venues will have access ramps and/or lifts. For details on transport options see the CrossRoads website (opens in a new window).

The pre-conference event for research students will be held at the Parramatta campus of Western Sydney University (see details below).


Register for the main conference on the University of Sydney website (opens in a new window).

Research Student Pre-Conference: 13 December

Registered delegates for Crossroads in Cultural Studies 2016 who are current Masters or PhD students, or who are recent graduates of Masters and PhD programs, are invited to attend (at no additional cost) a day-long pre-conference on Tuesday 13 December.

The pre-conference is hosted by the Institute for Culture and Society at Western Sydney University's Parramatta campus. Sessions will engage delegates in current disciplinary debates around theory and method in cultural research and provide professional development content around topics such as publishing, networking and job seeking. Delegates will have the opportunity to engage with featured speakers from the main conference program and with leading researchers from the Institute for Culture and Society at Western Sydney University and the Department of Gender and Cultural Studies at the University of Sydney.

Refer to the Research Student Pre-Conference webpage for more information. 

The research student pre-conference is a carbon neutral event. The Institute for Culture and Society has offset its carbon emissions from this event through Carbon Neutral Charitable Fund (opens in a new window). The contribution will re-establish native trees in Australia on land that was cleared for agriculture. These projects capture greenhouse gas emissions, encourage natural ecosystems and biodiversity, whilst building a more resilient local environment to climate change. 

Conference Steering Committee

  • Professor Catherine Driscoll (University of Sydney)
  • Professor Tony Bennett (Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University)
  • Associate Professor Tess Lea (University of Sydney)
  • Professor Brett Nielson (Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University)
  • Professor Elspeth Probyn (University of Sydney)
  • Dr Guy Redden (University of Sydney)
  • Dr Shanthi Robertson (Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University)


^ Back To Top
ICS Website Feedback