Our People

Core Members

Daud Hassan, Associate Professor and Director of ICOG

Associate Professor Daud Hassan joined the University of Western Sydney in 2009 with considerable teaching, research and community service experience. Daud taught at five different universities in Australia and Overseas, including University of Technology Sydney and Victoria University, Melbourne.

Donna Craig, Professor and Deputy Director of ICOG

Donna Craig is a specialist in international, comparative and national environmental law and policy at Western Sydney University. She was one of the earliest academics to specialise in environmental law (from 1976) and has researched and taught across a wide range of environmental law areas and jurisdictions.

Paul James, Professor And Director, Institute For Culture And Society

Paul James, Professor And  Director, Institute For Culture And Society

James Arvanitakis, Professor, Graduate Research School

Professor James Arvanitakis is the Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies at Western Sydney University. His research areas include citizenship, resilience, piracy and the future of universities.

Gregory Barton, Professor, School Of Humanities And Communication Arts

Professor Gregory Barton is an historian that specializes in the profound global impact of environmental reforms related to forestry, agriculture, and human-induced climate change. He focuses on issues of deforestation in the developing world, particularly India, the Middle East, Africa, and East Asia.

Liam Magee, Senior Research Fellow, ICS

Liam Magee, Senior Research Fellow, ICS       


Anna Cody, Professor, School of Law

Anna Cody is the Dean of the School of Law, Western Sydney University.  Anna Cody has a Masters in Law from Harvard University and Bachelor of Arts and Law from University of New South Wales.  She was previously an Associate Professor and Director of Kingsford Legal Centre, University of New South Wales.

Steven Freeland, Professor, School Of Law

Steven Freeland is Professor of International Law at Western Sydney University, Australia where he specializes in International Criminal Law, Commercial Aspects of Space Law, Public International Law and Human Rights Law. He was Dean of the School of Law at Western Sydney University from 2017-2019.

Razeen Sappideen, Professor, School Of Law

Professor Razeen Sappideen joined WSU as Foundation Professor of Law in 1994, and was for some time Dean of Law. Professor Sappideen holds the LLM (Hons) Syd, LLM (Pennsylvania) in Tax Law, LLM (Columbia) in Corporations Law, and the JSD (Columbia) in the area of Acquisitions and Mergers Law.

Scott Mann, Associate Professor, School Of Law ICS

Since 2003 Dr Mann has been a Senior Lecturer at the School of Law and from 1996 to 2002 was Faculty Consultant for the WSU law Review. In 1995 he was Acting Director for the Centre for Liberal and General Studies at UNSW. From 1988 to 1993 he worked as a Lecturer and Subject Convenor, also at UNSW.  

Dr Beatriz Garcia, Lecturer, School of Law

Beatriz Garcia holds a degree in Law and a Ph.D. in International Law from the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland. She worked in the Climate Change and Sustainable Development branch of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in Geneva, Switzerland, managing climate and biodiversity projects.

Neil Perry, Research Lecturer, School Of Business

Neil is a Senior Research Lecturer in Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability. He specialises in progressive economics approaches to environmental economics and policy and in ecological economics, an interdisciplinary field of research emphasising the interdependence of economic and ecological values.

Dr Ataur Rahman, Professor, School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics

Dr Ataur Rahman, Professor, School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics


Dr Alpana Roy, Associate Professor, School of Law

Dr Alpana Roy researches and teaches in intellectual property law, with a particular interest in trade marks, copyright, international intellectual property law, and cultural aspects of intellectual property (including traditional and indigenous knowledge).

Associate Members

  • Dr Henrik Ringbom
    Adjunct Professor (Docent), Maritime Law and the Law of the Sea
    Åbo Akademi University, Turku, Finland
    Professor, Scandinavian Institute of Maritime Law
  • Dr Timo Koivurova
    Research Professor and Director
    Arctic Centre, University of Lapland, Finland
  • Dr Alexander Proelss
    Professor, Law of the Sea
    University of Trier, Germany
  • Dr Tuomas Kuokkanen
    Ministerial Advisor,
    Ministry of the Environment Government of Finland

Advisory Board

  • Dr Marie Jacobsson
    Vice Chairperson, International Law Commission (ILC) Principal Legal Advisor on International Law, Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden
  • Professor Shigeki Sakamoto
    Emeritus Professor, Kobe University, Japan President, Japanese Institute for the Law of the Sea President, Japanese Society of International Law Japan
  • Professor Martin Tsamenyi AM
    Director Emeritus Australian National centre for Ocean Resources and Security (ANCORS) University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Professor Frank Maes
    Head, Department of European, Public and International Law Director, Maritime Institute, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Dean, School of Law
    Professor Steven Freeland


  • Dr Saiful Karim
    Senior Lecturer Faculty of Law,
    Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Jon C Day
    Former Director (Conservation)
    Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
  • Dr. Abdullah Al Faruque
    Professor and Dean, Faculty of Law University of Chittagong, Bangladesh






  • ASM Abdul Baten
    Rear Admiral and Vice Chancellor Bangabandhu Seikh Mujibur Rahman Maritime University Bangladesh
  • Kawser Ahmed
    Professor and Head of Oceanography Department University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Michael Adams
    Professor, School of Law
  • Professor VN Attri
    Chair of Indian Ocean Rim Studies, IORA Secretariat, Cyber City Ebene, Republic of Mauritius

Support Staff


  • ICOG Address
    Building EJc
    Western Sydney University
    Cnr James Ruse and Victoria Road
    Parramatta South Campus