Collaborative Projects Listing

EucFACE is an experiment that assesses numerous aspects of ecosystem function under elevated CO2.

EucFACE

There are extensive opportunities to collaborate at EucFACE under the following projects. If you are interested in collaborating, sampling or undertaking research at EucFACE, start by reviewing the table of projects and make contact with the designated researcher(s).

PROJECT CODE CHIEF INVESTIGATOR CONTACT DETAILS OF CICO-INVESTIGATORS PROPOSAL TITLE
P0010 Sally Power s.power@westernsydney.edu.au Ellen Fry, Shun Hasegawa Pilot study to investigate spatial and temporal heterogeneity in soil chemistry using ion exchange strips
P0019 Oula Ghannoum o.ghannoum@westernsydney.edu.au Robert Sharwood, Paul Rymer Impact of environmental change on photosynthetic biochemistry and gene expression of eucalypts and understorey species
P0011 Uffe Nielsen u.nielsen@westernsydney.edu.au Jeff Powell, Brendan Delroy Belowground impacts of P-fertilization in Cumberland Plain Woodlands
P0020 David Ellsworth d.ellsworth@westernsydney.edu.au Kristine Crous Woodland response to elevated CO2 in FACE: Does phosphorus limit the sink for C?
P0018 David Ellsworth d.ellsworth@westernsydney.edu.au Teresa Gimeno, David Tissue, Tony O'Grady, Tim McVicar What will be the hydrological consequences of elevated CO2? An experimental test of the impacts of elevated CO2 on evapotranspiration in mature Australian woodland.
P0012 Ben Moore b.moore@westernsydney.edu.au Ricky Spencer How will elevated CO2 affect the timing, duration and quality of nectar production in E. tereticornis, and what will be the consequences for nectarivores?
P0013 Ben Moore b.moore@westernsydney.edu.au Markus Riegler, Scott Johnson How will elevated CO2 affect the nutritional and secondary chemical quality of eucalypt foliage for marsupial folivores?
P0014 Jeff Powell, j.powell@westernsydney.edu.au Uffe Nielsen, Sally Power, Brajesh Singh, Catriona Macdonald, Ian Anderson Belowground impacts of elevated CO2 in Cumberland Plain Woodland
P0015 Paul Rymer p.rymer@westernsydney.edu.au   Vegetative and sexual reproduction in EucFACE
P0016 Markus Riegler m.riegler@westernsydney.edu.au Markus Riegler Analysis of the microbiome associated with Australian Psylloidea using 454-pyrosequencing
P0017 Andrew Gherlenda a.gherlenda@westernsydney.edu.au Markus Riegler, Scott Johnson CO2 mediated effects on frass dynamics as proxy for insect herbivore abundance and alterations in short term nutrient cycling within a mature eucalypt forest
P0023 Sally Power s.power@westernsydney.edu.au Ellen Fry, Shun Hasegawa How does elevated CO2 affect the availability and economy of soil nutrients?
P0024 Sally Power s.power@westernsydney.edu.au Lydia Toy Determining plant traits of understorey herbaceous species found in a Eucalyptus woodland along a soil moisture gradient
P0025 David Drew david.drew@csiro.au David Ellsworth, Pat Mitchell Short term growth responses to varying environmental conditions, and associated wood property variation under elevated [CO2]
P0026 Catriona Macdonald c.macdonald@westernsydney.edu.au Sally Power, Shun Hasegawa Does elevated CO2 stimulate rates of N and P mineralisation, nitrification and free-living N2-fixation in a Eucalyptus woodland and alter associated microbial community structure?
P0027 Brajesh Singh b.singh@westernsydney.edu.au Loïc Nazaries How does elevated CO2 influence the net fluxes of CH4 and N2O in an Eucalyptus woodland and alter associated microbial community structure?
P0028 Matthias Boer, m.boer@westernsydney.edu.au Oula Ghannoum Using multispectral stereo imaging to determine the impacts of free air CO2 enrichment on grassy understorey vegetation in Cumberland Plain woodland.
P0029 Sally Power, s.power@westernsydney.edu.au Paul Rymer, Matthias Boer, Shun Hasegawa, Tony Haigh Impacts of elevated CO2 on understorey plant community composition and dynamics
P0030 Uffe Nielsen, u.nielsen@westernsydney.edu.au Ben Moore, Sally Power, Jeff Powell Impacts of elevated CO2 on litter decomposition in Cumberland Plain Woodlands
P0031 John Drake je.drake@westernsydney.edu.au Mark Tjoelker, Peter Reich, Brajesh Singh, Ian Anderson, Catriona Macdonald Soil respiration under elevated [CO2] at EucFACE
P0032 John Drake je.drake@westernsydney.edu.au Mark Tjoelker, Peter Reich, Brajesh Singh, Ian Anderson, Catriona Macdonald Following the "new" carbon belowground: isotopic tracing of the fumigation gas at EucFACE
P0034 Brendan Choat b.choat@westernsydney.edu.au David Ellsworth, Teresa Gimeno, Sebastian Pfautsch, Stefan Arndt, Gregor Sanders Impact of elevated CO2 on xylem structure and hydraulic traits in a Eucalyptus woodland.
P0035 David Ellsworth d.ellsworth@westernsydney.edu.au   Phosphorus addition enhances photosynthesis and growth of E. tereticornis.
P0037 Remko Duursma r.duursma@westernsydney.edu.au Teresa Gimeno, Matthias Boer, Darius Culvenor, Glenn Newnham,Craig Barton, David Ellsworth Structure of the EucFACE canopy: laser scanning, hemispherical photography, and modelling.
P0038 Kara Youngentob Kara.Youngentob@csiro.au David Ellsworth, Alex Held, Tim McVicar, Guy Byrne, Ben Moore, Kristine Crous, Teresa Gimeno Hyperspectral remote sensing of canopy chemistry in elevated CO2
P0039 Peter Reich, Kristine Crous k.crous@westernsydney.edu.au David Ellsworth, Mark Tjoelker, Ben Moore, Paul Rymer Does increased C supply increase leaf life span?
P0040 Andrew Gherlenda, Markus Riegler a.gherlenda@westernsydney.edu.au; m.riegler@westernsydney.edu.au Scott Johnson, Tony Haigh, Ben Moore Leaf consumption and damage of eucalypt feeding insects under elevated CO2
P0041 Brad Oberle brad.oberle@gmail.com Amy Zanne, Brendan Choat, Peter Reich, Jeff Powell When a tree doesn't fall in the forest (at least for awhile): Alternative pathways for wood decay
P0044 Ulo Niinemets ylo.niinemets@emu.ee David Ellsworth Biogenic trace C emissions of volatiles from leaves of trees in eastern Australia
P0045 David Ellsworth d.ellsworth@westernsydney.edu.au Cesar Terrer, Catherine Beattie Long-term tree diameter measurements for tree growth at EucFACE
P0046 Belinda Medlyn belinda.medlyn@mq.edu.au Martin De Kauwe, Sonke Zahele, Anthony Walker, Remko Duursma Understanding how native Australian vegetation will respond to elevated CO2 treatment - a model-data intercomparison.
P0047 Teresa Gimeno t.gimeno@westernsydney.edu.au David Ellsworth, David Tissue, Craig Barton, Tim McVicar, Anthony O'Grady, Lu Zhang Monitoring groundwater levels in a native old-growth Cumberland plain forest (Addendum to P0018)
P0043 Scott Johnson scott.johnson@westernsydney.edu.au Sarah Facey, Prof David Ellsworth The effects of elevated CO2 on the architecture of a native Australian shrub and its tri-trophic interactions
P0049 Simon Jones simon.jones@rmit.edu.au Lola Suarez, Matthias Boer
Remko Duursma
Multi-angular measurements of Eucalypt canopy reflectance
P0048 Jeff Powell j.powell@westernsydney.edu.au Ian Anderson, Jen Walker, Matthias Rillig Switching partners: a driving force for tree productivity in a changing environment?
P0050 Matthias Boer m.boer@westernsydney.edu.au David Ellsworth , Victor Resco De Dios Ross Bradstock When fire and water mix: Do CO2-related water savings drive woody thickening and fire dynamics in a grassy woodland? and Measurement of shrub plantings as a direct test of the woody thickening hypothesis
P0051 Scott Johnson scott.johnson@westernsydney.edu.au David Ellsworth, Lisa Bromfield, Markus Riegler, Uffe Nielsen Measuring flying and understorey invertebrate abundance and diversity in ambient and enriched CO2 conditions
P0052 Sally Power s.power@westernsydney.edu.au John Drake, Mark Tjoelker, Raúl Ochoa Hueso, Shun Hasegawa Impacts of elevated CO2 on the production and biomass of fine roots, and soil P cycling
P0054 Brajesh Singh b.singh@westernsydney.edu.au Catriona Macdonald, John Drake, Pete Millard, Landcare, NZ, Andy Midwood (JHI, UK), Kirsten Hannam (Canada) Differentiating response of autrotrophic and heterotrophic respiration under elevated CO2 treatments
P0055 Teresa Gimeno t.gimeno@westernsydney.edu.au Adam Webeck; David Ellsworth Interactive effects of nutrient limitation and climatic variability on the growth and phenology of mature eucalypt trees
P0056 Owen Atkin owen.atkin@anu.edu.au Lingling Zhu; Lucy Hayes; Jack Egerton; Danielle Creek ; Brendan Choat Baseline TERN Supersite plant physiological measurements
P0057 Peter Franks peter.franks@sydney.edu.au   Stomatal size and density response in a Eucalyptus canopy exposed to elevated CO2
P0058 Rebecca Montgomery rebeccam@umn.edu David Ellsworth; Mark Tjoelker The role of leaf carbohydrate status in the regulation of carbon metabolism in leaves
P0059 Elise Pendall e.pendall@westernsydney.edu.au Pushpinder Matta Monitoring CO2 and CH4 concentration and isotopic composition in a Eucalyptus teriticornis canopy
P0060 Justin Welbergen j.welbergen@westernsydney.edu.au Jasmine Magee Effects of CO2 enrichment on Cumberland Plain Woodland avifauna

Contacts At EucFACE

Dr Vinod Kumar
Technical Lead EucFACE: Dr Vinod Kumar

To conduct experiments and sampling at EucFACE, please submit the Application Form (DOC, 50 KB) (opens in a new window) to Site Manager Dr Vinod Kumar on vinod.kumar@uws.edu.au.

Eucalyptus Leaf