Chaplaincy

What is Chaplaincy about?

The Chaplaincy team offers a caring presence to all staff and students at the University; encouraging spirituality, offering hospitality and creating community.

We do this by embracing our diversity, encouraging conversation and respecting our similarities and differences. Our role is to encourage a spiritual life within the University.

Our key aim is to help you get the most out of your time at Western Sydney University. Our chaplains come from a variety of spiritual traditions, offering:

  • a safe place and an open ear
  • opportunities to nurture, express and explore your spirituality
  • links to religious groups and faith communities
  • connection of life and faith through critical thinking, exploration of ethical issues and action for social justice
  • care and support in times of uncertainty, crisis and loss
  • thoughtful acts of service with, and for, others
  • a free and confidential service 

Multifaith facilities

Multifaith facilities are available for students and staff on all campuses.

Muslim prayer rooms

Bankstown: Building 10.G.19 (Female); Building 10.G.20 (Male)

Campbelltown: Building 2.2.02

Hawkesbury: Building P22

Kingswood: Building H

Parramatta: Building EA.LG.13

Prayer and meditation facilities

Bankstown: Building 10.G.13

Campbelltown: Building 2.2.07

Hawkesbury: Building P23

Kingswood: Building H

Parramatta: Building EF.G.07

These Multifaith facilities are founded on the spiritual places of the Darug People, the traditional caretakers of this region. They are available for all who hold to a faith tradition as well as those who do not. They offer a safe place to meet, pray, reflect, meditate or simply take some time for yourself. There are multifaith libraries to browse, chaplains to chat with, groups to connect with and religious festivals to celebrate. Multifaith facilities are places where your inner life is respected and honoured.

Campus contacts

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Christine Gapes, 0422 498 371, c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au

Christine Gapes, 0422 498 371, c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au

Christine Gapes, 0422 498 371, c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au

Denomination contacts

 The University is served by chaplains from a broad range of denominations/faith traditions:

Richard Blight, (02) 9772 6526, 0402 282 893, r.blight@westernsydney.edu.au, richardblight@optusnet.com.au

Cameron Howard, 0422 427 939, cameron.w.howard@gmail.com

Anita Lau (External Advisor), (02) 9966 8893, office@buddhistcouncil.org

Fr Andrew Fornal, (02) 4721 8945, 0405 200 937, afflo123@me.com

Fr Matthew Attia, 0418 283 114, fr.matthew2@bigpond.com

Rev Ian Duncan, 0481 284 394, 123ibd456@gmail.com

Fr Panagiotis Protopsaltis, 0402 219 214, revpanagiotis@steuphemia.nsw.edu.au

Pundit Rama, 0419 654 987, kulaguru@bigpond.com

Shailee Mendelevich, (02) 9381 4281, shailee@hillel.com.au

David Lakisa, (02) 9841 5318, 0405 103 302, david.lakisa@ldschurch.org

Anthony Neil, (02) 9841 5371, 0420 309 157, NeillA@ldschurch.org

Rev Peter Barnes, (02) 9774 5740, 0450 506 324, peter.barnes828@gmail.com

Ben Weir, 0401 077 404, b.weir@westernsydney.edu.au

The University is also visited by other denominations/faith traditions. For more information please contact Christine Gapes on 0422 498 371 or alternatively via email at c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au.