Chaplaincy

What is Chaplaincy about?

The Chaplaincy team offers a caring presence to all staff and students at the University; encouraging spirituality, offering hospitality and creating community.

We do this by embracing our diversity, encouraging conversation and respecting our similarities and differences. Our role is to encourage a spiritual life within the University. We pursue a capacity for supporting all students – those interested in particular religious traditions and those who have no affiliation with religious tradition but who are interested in spiritual questions and curious about clarifying their own values and priorities.

We are keenly interested in each student’s success so that the process of education here at Western can be as personally fulfilling as possible for each one.

Our key aim is to help you get the most out of your time at Western Sydney University. Our chaplains come from a variety of spiritual traditions, offering:

  • a safe place and an open ear
  • opportunities to nurture, express and explore your spirituality
  • links to religious groups and faith communities
  • connection of life and faith through critical thinking, exploration of ethical issues and action for social justice
  • care and support in times of uncertainty, crisis and loss
  • thoughtful acts of service with, and for, others
  • a free and confidential service 

Multifaith facilities

Multifaith facilities are available for students and staff on all campuses.

Muslim prayer rooms

Bankstown: Building 10.G.19 (Female); Building 10.G.20 (Male)

Campbelltown: Building 2.2.02

Hawkesbury: Building P9

Liverpool: Level 1

Kingswood: Building H

Parramatta: Building EA.LG.13

Prayer and meditation facilities

Bankstown: Building 10.G.13

Campbelltown: Building 2.2.07

Hawkesbury: Building P9

Liverpool: Level 1

Kingswood: Building H

Parramatta: Building EF.G.07

Parramatta City: PSQ1.1.23-24 (women after 12); PSQ1.1.26-27 (men after 12)

These Multifaith facilities are founded on the spiritual places of the Darug People, the traditional caretakers of this region. They are available for all who hold to a faith tradition as well as those who do not. They offer a safe place to meet, pray, reflect, meditate or simply take some time for yourself. There are multifaith libraries to browse, chaplains to chat with, groups to connect with and religious festivals to celebrate. Multifaith facilities are places where your inner life is respected and honoured.

Campus contacts

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Christine Gapes, 0422 498 371, c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au

Jennie Rawlings, 0490 024 955, jennie.rawlings@westernsydney.edu.au

Jackie Gibbon, 0478 748 587, j.gibbon@westernsydney.edu.au

Jason Jeremiah, 0425 416 200, jason.jeremiah@bigpond.com

Daniel Jantos, 0402 771 543, d.jantos@westernsydney.edu.au

Christine Gapes, 0422 498 371, c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au

Amelia Koh-Butler, 0427 955 157, a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au 

Denomination contacts

 The University is served by chaplains from a broad range of denominations/faith traditions:

Rev Richard Blight, (02) 9772 6526, 0402 282 893, r.blight@westernsydney.edu.aurichardblight1@gmail.com

Rev Cameron Howard, 0422 427 939, cameron.w.howard@gmail.com

Alistair Seabrook, 0433 335 159, alistair@dundasanglican.com.au

Anita Lau (External Advisor), (02) 9966 8893, office@buddhistcouncil.org

Sunim BomHyon, 0435 612 667, bomhyon.sunim@gmail.com

Fr Andrew Fornal, (02) 4721 8945, 0405 200 937, afflo123@me.com

Fr Joseph Reddy Dondetti, 0435 036 826, j.dondetti@westernsydney.edu.au

Fr Piotr Kruk OP, 0407 732 509, kruk2000@gmail.com

Jackie Gibbon, 0478 748 587, j.gibbon@westernsydney.edu.au

Jason Jeremiah, 0425 416 200, jason.jeremiah@bigpond.com

Fr Matthew Attia, 0418 283 114, fr.matthew2@bigpond.com

Rev Ian Duncan, 0481 284 394, 123ibd456@gmail.com

Daniel Monterde, 0414 761 961, dan.monterde@everynationcampus.org

Jennie Rawlings, 0490 024 955, jennierawlings@bigpond.com

Steve Hodgson, 0401 477 745, steve.hodgson@freshhope.org.au

Fr Panagiotis Protopsaltis, 0402 219 214, revpanagiotis@steuphemia.nsw.edu.au

Qianwen (Renee) Deng, 0419 654 987, qianwen.deng@westernsydney.edu.au

Pundit Rama, 0419 654 987, kulaguru@bigpond.com

Ziad Raad, 0449 098 998, z.raad@westernsydney.edu.au

Rabbi Eli Feldman, junisydney@gmail.com

Ben Terry, (02) 9481 5371, ben.terry@ldschurch.org

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler, 0427 955 157, a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au

Susanne Rae Jones, 0410 453 725, s.jones2@westernsydney.edu.au

Rev Peter Barnes, (02) 9774 5740, 0450 506 324, peter.barnes828@gmail.com

Daniel Przybylko, danielprzybylko@hotmail.com

Luke Jones, 0414 622 279, hello@sozojunior.com.au

Cherie Jones, 0421 860 574, cherierosejones@gmail.com

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler, 0427 955 157, a.koh-butler@westernsydney.edu.au

Rev Dr Christine Gapes, 0422 498 371, c.gapes@westernsydney.edu.au

Ben Weir, 0401 077 404, b.weir@westernsydney.edu.au

Rev Tara Curlewis, 02 8838 8922, taraC@nswact.uca.org.au

Brenda Taiamoni, brendataiamoni@gmail.com

Jeffrey Abayasekera, annathaie@gmail.com

The University is also visited by other denominations/faith traditions. For more information please contact Daniel Jantos 0402 771 543 or Marissa Waddington on 02 4620 3358. Alternatively via email at d.jantos@westernsdyney.edu.au or m.waddington@westernsydney.edu.au.