Excellence in Research (Researcher of the Year)

Winner - Individual

Distinguished Professor Belinda Medlyn, Theme Leader, Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment

Distinguished Professor Belinda Medlyn is an ecosystem modeller and recent awardee of an Australian Laureate Fellowship in the Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment (HIE). Drawing on experimental data and findings, such as from HIE’s flagship EucFACE experiment, Distinguished Professor Medlyn has developed new quantitative insights into the responses of plants to drivers such as rising atmospheric C02, global warming, heatwaves and droughts. Mechanisms she has discovered are incorporated into models used for climate change assessment and prediction. Through her work, HIE
research is improving our ability to predict and respond to the challenges of a changing environment, today and in the future.

Highly Commended - Individual

Professor Brajesh Singh, Centre Director, Global Centre for Land-Based Innovation, Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment


  • Associate Professor Alison Downham Moore, Associate Professor in Modern European History, School of Humanities and Communication Arts
  • Associate Professor Paola Escudero, Associate Professor in Linguistics, MARCS Institute for Brain, Behaviour and Development
  • Dr Joseph Firth, Senior Research Fellow, NICM Health Research Institute
  • Professor William S Price, Professor of Medical Imaging Physics, School of Science and Health
  • Professor Vivian Tam, Associate Dean (International), School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics