Vice-Chancellor’s Gender Equality Committee

Terms of Reference

The Vice-Chancellor's Gender Equality Committee (GEC) is an Advisory Committee to the Vice-Chancellor. The role of the Committee is to promote and improve gender equality at Western Sydney University by:

  • developing, implementing and monitoring a Western Sydney University Gender Equality Strategy
  • commissioning works and reports and gathering data on gender equality
  • recommending targets for improving the representation of women in management and leadership positions
  • undertaking policy reviews and special projects
  • reviewing and making recommendations to the VC on the Employer of Choice application

The Committee will normally meet 3-4 times a year and provide meeting reports to the Executive Committee.


Membership is by invitation from the Vice-Chancellor for a term of 2 years and the committee should be broadly representative of the Western Sydney University community.

Professor Barney Glover, Vice-Chancellor and President

Deputy Chair
Professor Janice Aldrich-Wright, School of Science and Health

Professor Simeon Simoff, Dean School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics
Professor Deborah Sweeney, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
Ms Susan Hudson Director, HR Strategy and Services
Dr Sev Ozdowski, Director Equity and Diversity
Assoc. Professor Meg Smith, Director, Research and HDR (Human Resources & Management)  
Dr Helen (Yimin) Wu Senior Lecturer, Structural Dynamics, School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics
Dr Kerry Clamp, Senior Lecturer, School of Social Sciences and Humanities
Dr Anne Jamison, Lecturer School of Humanities and Communication Arts

Executive Officer
Senior Project Officer, Equity and Diversity