2004 Sculpture Award

UWS Acquisitive Sculpture Award and Exhibition 2004

The inaugural UWS Acquisitive Sculpture Award and Exhibition held at the Campbelltown campus of the University of Western Sydney, was opened on Friday 19 November 2004 by Mr Edmund Capon, Director of the Art Gallery of New South Wales.

The winning sculpture Inara by Michael Le Grand was acquired by the University for its art collection and will be permanently housed on the Campbelltown campus.

The exhibition consisted of major works by significant Australian artists who created sculptures especially for the site, a picturesque lakeside setting on the Campbelltown campus.

Exhibiting artists in 2004 were:

  • Angus Adameitis
  • Rae Bolotin
  • Janik Bouchette
  • Gary Deirmendjian
  • Clara Hali
  • Nigel Harrison
  • Christopher Hodges
  • Orest Keywan
  • Jan King
  • Anita Larkin
  • Des McKenna
  • Dale Miles
  • Denese Oates
  • Paul Selwood
  • Harvey Sheilds
  • Braddon Snape
  • Michael Snape
  • Lili Tabbaa
  • Christopher Trotter
  • Arthur Wicks.

The UWS Acquisitive Sculpture Award and Exhibition aims to establish closer links between the University, artists and industry; to provide a valuable educational and cultural resource for the region and to enhance the campus environment for teaching and learning.

All exhibits in the 2004 exhibition are featured on the Past Exhibitions page.

^ Back to top

Michael Le Grand


Winner of UWS Sculpture Exhibition, 2004

Materials: Painted steel
H: 240 cm, L: 285 cm, W: 190 cm
© M. Le Grand

^ Back to top