Academic Senate

Review of Academic Senate

The Academic Senate (Senate) is the is the peak forum of the University for academic debate and discourse, and is the primary custodian of academic values and standards for the University. Academic Senate is a standing committee of the Board of Trustees, and it’s existence is mandated by the University’s enabling legislation (S20 of Western Sydney University Act 1997). In 2019 the University is conducting an external review of the performance of Academic Senate, to be compliant with Standard 6.1.3(d) of the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2015, which  requires Universities to conduct periodic independent reviews of academic governance processes. The Terms of Reference for the review (PDF, 5927.16 KB) (opens in a new window) were approved by the Board of Trustees in February 2018.

The membership of the Panel currently reviewing Academic Senate are:

  • Professor Jo-Anne Reid, Professor of Education and Former Presiding Officer Academic Senate, Charles Sturt University (Chair)
  • Emeritus Professor John Simons, former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Macquarie University
  • Professor Sally Varnham, Professor, Faculty of Law, UTS
  • Ms Nicole Gismondo, undergraduate student representative, Board of Trustees at Western Sydney University
  • Ms Pallavi Verma, Student member: Vice Chancellor’s International Student Advisory Committee, Postgraduate student representative: School Advisory Committee – SCEM
  • Mr Michael Hendriksen, Student Representative, Research Committee

As part of the review process, the Panel are seeking feedback from the broader University community as to whether Senate and the standing committees of Senate operations are effective and are considered to be good practice, or whether there are any recommendations for improvement.

Any feedback you wish to provide on Senate, the standing committees of Senate (Senate Executive Committee, Education Committee, Assessment Committee, Research Committee, Research Studies Committee, Academic Planning and Course Approvals Committee, Academic Integrity and Appeals Committee and School Committees), and/or the Academic Governance Policy is much appreciated. Please provide any comments in the form below, which will be collated and sent to the panel members.