



ACADEMIC SENATE Membership – as per the Academic Governance Policy				
Clause 14 - Ex-Officio Members				
a. Vice-Chancellor and President	Professor Clare Pollock (Interim)	1		
b. Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor	Vacant	-		
c. Provost	Professor Kevin Dunn	2		
d. Deputy Vice-Chancellors of the University	Professor Maryanne Dever, Education	3		
	Professor Deborah Sweeney, Research, Enterprise and Innovation	4		
	Professor Michelle Trudgett, Indigenous Leadership	5		
	Professor Deborah Hatcher, Academic Development	6		
	Professor Alphia Possamai-Inesedy, Engagement and Advancement	7		
	Professor Rod McClure, Health Futures	8		
	Professor Susan Page, Indigenous Education	9		
	Professor Linda Taylor, International	10		
e. Pro Vice-Chancellors of the University	Professor Brian Stout, Learning and Teaching	11		
	Dr Nicolene Murdoch, Educational Partnerships and Quality	12		
	Professor Andy Marks, Strategy, Government and Alliances	13		
	Professor Amir Mahmood, Surabaya campus	14		
	Professor Meg Smith, (Interim) School of Business	15		
	Professor Bahman Javadi, (Interim) School of Computer, Data and Mathematical	16		
	Sciences			
	Professor Michele Simons, School of Education	17		
	Distinguished Professor Brian Falzon, School of Engineering, Design and Built	18		
	Environment			
f. Dean of each School in the University	Professor Sarah Lewis, School of Health Sciences	19		
	Distinguished Professor Anthony Uhlmann (Interim), School of Humanities and	20		
	Communication Arts	24		
	Professor Catherine Renshaw (Interim), School of Law	21		
	Professor Rod McClure School of Medicine	counted		
	Professor Deborah Hatcher, School of Nursing and Midwifery	counted		
	Professor Tanya Meade, School of Psychology	22		
	Professor Graciela Metternicht, School of Science	23		
	Professor Adam Possamai (Interim), School of Social Sciences	24		
	Professor Clive Baldock, Graduate Studies and Researcher Development	24 26		
g. Director, Research Institute representing the University's Research Institutes, as nominated Professor Dennis Chang				

by the Deputy Vice Chancellor and Vice President,	Research Enterprise and International		
h. Chief Executive Officer, Western Sydney University, The College or nominee		Mr Glenn Campbell	27
i. Director, Data Integrity, Quality and Operations		Ms Jess Gleeson	28
j. Executive Director, Library Services		Ms Fiona Salisbury	29
Clause 15 - Elected Members			
a. one person (the Chair, Academic Senate), elected by the members of the Senate from the members of the academic staff of the University		Professor Robert Mailhammer (Chair)	30
b. one person (the Deputy Chair, Academic Senate), elected by the members of the Senate from the members of the academic staff of the University		Professor Sarah Zhang (Deputy Chair)	31
	School of Business	Dr Ata Samad (Level A, B orC)	32
		Professor Ann Dadich (Level D or E)	33
c. two members of the academic staff of each	School of Computer, Data & Mathematical	Dr Evan Crawford (Level A, B or C)	34
	Science	Associate Professor Ana Hol (Level D or E)	35
	School of Education	Dr Nathan Berger (Level A, B or C)	36
		Associate Professor Jacqueline Ullman (Level D or E)	37
	School of Engineering, Design & Built Environment	Dr Ranjith Liyanapathirana (Level A, B or C)	38
		Professor Samanthika Liyanapathirana (Level D or E)	39
	School of Health Sciences	Dr Kylie Steel (Level A, B or C)	40
		Associate Professor Lei Si (Level Dor E)	41
chool of the University, elected by and from the	School of Humanities and Communication Arts	Dr Margarite Poulos (Level A, B or C)	42
academic staff of that School, one of whom is a level A, B or C academic staff member and the other is a level D or E academic staff member		Associate Professor Jennifer Mensch (Level D or E)	43
	School of Law	Dr Maria Bhatti (Level A, B or C)	44
	SCHOOL OF LAW	Associate Professor Liesel Spencer (Level D or E)	45
	School of Medicine	Dr James Dunn (Level A, B or C)	46
		VACANT	-
	School of Nursing and Midwifery	Dr Peter Lewis (Level A, B or C)	47
		Professor Anna Williams (Level Dor E)	48
	School of Psychology	Dr Fran Doyle (Level A, B or C)	49
		Associate Professor Emilee Gilbert (Level D or E)	50
	School of Science	Dr Ben Perry (Level A, B or C)	51
		Professor Miroslav Filipovic (Level D or E)	52
		Dr Erika Smith (Level A, Bor C)	53
	School of Social Sciences	Professor Corrinne Sullivan (Level D or E)	54
d. one member of the academic staff of the University Research		Associate Professor Alexie Papanicolaou	55

e. two undergraduate students, elected by and from the undergraduate students of the	VACANT	-
University	Ms Sirjan Sidhu (until 31 May 2025)	56
f. two postgraduate students:	Vacant	-
 i. one elected by and from the postgraduate coursework students of the University; and ii. one elected by and from the higher degree by research students of the University. 	Dr Ritesh Chimoriya (until 31 May 2024)	57
g. one Indigenous Australian Student elected by and from the Indigenous Australian students of the University	Ms Tiffany Sharpe (31 Dec 2025)	58
h. one International Student elected by and from the international students of the University	Mr Ashes Niroula (31 Dec 2025)	59
i. one student representing disability matters elected by and from the students who have identified as having a disability or chronic health condition.	Mx Vicky-Rae Reed (31 May 2025)	60
Clause 16 – Appointed Members		
The appointed members of the Senate are three members, each of whom may be a student or a member of staff, whom the Vice-Chancellor and President may appoint, in consultation with the Chair, Academic Senate, for the purposes of achieving diversity of membership, consistent with the Gender Equality Policy and the Equal Opportunity and Diversity Policy, and an informed perspective on matters under consideration.	Professor Janice Aldrich-Wright	61 62 63
	Quorum	32